Ashampoo suite

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by gery, Dec 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Has anyone tried or used this suite? What do you think?
     
  2. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I often use the free firewall. It's better than the paid one actually. Less buggy. Very light firewall but they haven't been updated for a very long time. They have some small bugs, the paid is worse IMHO. Also they have some incompatibilities. Last week i was running it together with TF and TF couldn't update. It has happened to me before with some KAV based AVs. Odd bug.

    The antivirus is basically using avira's engine i think. But i had tried 1.61 and it was sloooow, must be something with the gui or i don't know. I haven't tried it again since last spring and they haven't updated it either since then...

    IMHO the suite could be very good value for money, but they should have worked more on it.

    I think the antispyware was supposed to be based on A squared engine? Never tried it though.

    In any case, just look when they were last updated. Almost 9 months ago.
     
  3. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    My best guess is its an average suite, most likely in the detection rate of 90%
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    The antispyware is A-squared without the malware-ids
     
  5. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Anti-virus - Avira,
    Anti-Spyware - A2,
    Firewall by - Unkown Possible Avira,

    If the A2 engine includes Ikarus, then it would have very good detection indeed.
     
  6. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Even without the Ikarus engine it would have top notch detection - please, asquared by itself has a high detection for an AM/AS and Avira needs no introduction.
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    what about performance in the computer? Ram and Cpu and some thoughts on real experience. I had the firewall installed but it totally messed my laptop. no connection and some slowing down that i have never seen before (except for the AV from Ashampoo ) which was very bugy.
     
  8. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
  9. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Different companys sometimes buy the use of each others technology.
     
  10. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Some of them even change the names and some just keep the names unchanged.
    ZONE ALARM INTERNET SECURITY uses KASPERSKY antivirus only
    GDATA uses AVAST and BITDEFENDER simultaneously
    Agnitum IS uses Virusbuster
    PCTOOLS uses Virusbuster
    and so on so there is nothing surprising with this
     
  11. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    And not all companies can afford to develop their own engines/databases :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.