Ashampoo Firewall V1.20

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by niteghost, Sep 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. niteghost

    niteghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Hmmm.... it seems Ashampoo Firewall V 1.20 , can only Stealth, when I turn on Windows XP sp2 Firewall, to work in conjunction with it. I wish I do not have to turn Windows Firewall to make my PC stealth. Any Ideas?
     
  2. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    I tried V1.00 and there were many closed port and even open ports!
    A few were stealth. So I deinstalled Ashampoo.
    I see it's not going better :(
     
  3. Seishin

    Seishin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Just don't run two firewalls at the first time in the first place. Only exception if one of them is a hardware one (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Router).
     
  4. niteghost

    niteghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    122

    I had XP Firewall turn OFF, when I first installed Ashampoo, then I ran the Stealth Test at various Testing centre, all brought back the same result, the ports are closed but not stealth. Then I turned on the XP Firewall all the ports are stealth and Ashampoo pass with flying colors.
     
  5. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    That's the Windows Firewall stealthing, so it's the program that's doing the job, not Ashampoo's Firewall. I don't think that anyone will disagree that Ashampoo should have not released this program until it can at the very least stealth all unrequested inbound attempts on its own.
     
  6. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    I think it is rather the Windows firewall that passes with flying colors :D
     
  7. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    I only have the XP firewall and I pass with flying colors too on the stealth tests. :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.