Ashampoo Antivirus 2014 (emsisoft + bitdefender)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by marciocruz, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,680
    I have just started using this, and am very impressed so far.

    After installing it and doing the required reboot, it is extremely light for me. It is having zero noticeable effect on system performance, which on my laptop is rare. At times after the reboot I have seen relatively high CPU use while it has been updating. But very surprisingly, it has not lead to a slowdown in performance.

    The initial update took a while to complete. Since it is takes place silently in the background, there was not way to check the progress.

    The HIPS is working quite well, and also when I visited a known questionable website, I immediately go a popup telling me the site was unsafe, but also giving me the option to whitelist it, in case I wanted to ignore the warning and still visit it.

    When I went to do a context menu scan of my downloads folder, I was recommended to have the definitions updated first due to them being updated. When I selected to do the update before scanning, the scan started as soon as the update was completed.

    I was concerned about the lack of an option to be prompted for what action to take when a threat is found. But when I did a scan nothing was dealt with automatically. When the scan was finished I was able to deal with the threats manually. This is good in my case, as I won't use antivirus software which automatically quarantines threats without asking first.

    When attempting to execute an infected file, once again you are prompted what action to take. If you want to run the file despite the warning you have the option to whitelist that specific file, or whitelist the threat so that anytime that same threat is encountered it will be ignore, rather than just the single instance of it.

    So far I am really liking this antivirus. There was a performance hit when running a scan, but otherwise it is very light so far.

    It is important to note that there are other antiviruses which I have found to be very light when first installing them, but after trialing them for a while have found periods where they cause noticeable slowdowns - even if only briefly. Time will tell how Ashampoo Antivirus fares, but I will post back here.
     
  2. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Yeah, and people still put stock into short-term "performance tests". :rolleyes:
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,680
    After running Ashampoo for a few days, I find it to be reasonably light, but there are spikes in CPU use which I guess is due to it using two scan engines.

    For example, there is a big spike in CPU use when launching programs. When I launch task manager, CPU goes to just over 50% then over a few seconds drops right down again. When I'm browsing websites, Ashampoo is very light.

    I have disabled the proactive defense, as I don't like the that it automatically blocks a detected action after 30 seconds (360 Internet Security and Yet Another Cleaner also do this), because it means that you need to be in front on your computer when changes are being to your computer or software is being installed so that nothing needed is blocked. For example I was installing a Java update, and I allowed a few actions, and then went away from my computer for a while, and in that time, something was blocked that prevented Java from being installed.
     
  4. minegroasprilla

    minegroasprilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    caracas
    I don´t understand.
    If Emsisoft uses Bitdefender, Why Does Ashampoo say they use Emsisoft and Bitdefender?.
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Emsisoft use their own in-house engine + the Bitdefender engine.
    Ashampoo use the Emsisoft engine and Bitdefender engine.

    I think I got this right :D
     
  6. minegroasprilla

    minegroasprilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    caracas
    So, EAM and Ashampoo are the same?
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Been useing Ashampoo AV for a while now on two computers and it has upgraded once and updates several times a day. so far so good.:)
     
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,994
    Is the Mamutu component included in this? In the past Ashampoo has claimed it used its own "in house" behavior monitor.
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It just upgraded again. Looks as if they are actively supporting this AV.
     
  10. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    When did Emsisoft start using Bitdefender ?
     
  11. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
  12. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Since v7 released on 19.09.2012.
     
  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,213
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    What's in the upgrade?
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I will do some checking and find out. In one week went from version 1.0.0 to 1.0.4 contacted their support for a list of changes. will post when received.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2013
  15. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Here is a list of the changes in version 1.0.4
     

    Attached Files:

  16. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    This AV is working very well after a week or so of use/
     
  17. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    +1 on that, I've been using this about the same length of time as you. Paired it with the PC Tools firewall, which always ran well for me. So far, this is as light a combo that one can ask for.
     
  18. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    G-Data must have failed you (no bashing intended).
     
  19. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Not at all, actually. I like to try different solutions from time to time. But I usually wind up going back to G Data, as its always performed well for me, and never let me down. I do like this new combo, however, so time will tell...
     
  20. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Alright, I understand. :)
     
  21. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    AAV is still doing great.:D
     
  22. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    One thing I don't like with Ashampoo AV, is that if you block a website or url that turns out to be legit, there doesn't appear to be a way to unblock it. I can find no list or setting where this can be accomplished, which I feel is a big drawback.
    Also, I noticed a glitch in the program. If you highlight a file and right-click it, there will be an option to scan the file...but it's in German, not English. Does anyone else see this as well? If so, I'll report it to Ashampoo.
     
  23. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    So this is essentially an EAM clone.
     
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,925
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    possibly but it does work.
     
  25. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,480
    Location:
    Paris
    They really have to clean up the FP's. Today I installed the new beta of Seamonkey (mozilla) browser and was immediately presented with a trojan alert.

    A product that flags everything as malicious flags nothing.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.