Ashampoo AntiMalware Free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PintoX, Sep 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PintoX

    PintoX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Portugal
  2. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    The only issue is this appears this is in german. One wonders if you can grab the english version and insert the code?
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    It works on english version too...
     
  4. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
    +1

    Rules
     
  5. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Has anyone tested or ran this yet?
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yes its good except the RAM usage.... But it seems light...:eek:
     
  8. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Will they spam my email address with lots of newsletters ?
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559

    Probably, unless they have changed their behavior.
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    They spam but I have opted out of the emails and they stop.
     
  11. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    So if you had an anti-virus already installed this software would be useless? o_O
     
  12. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    it`s emsisoft only a little heavier on the resources.
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I ran it for a while and it seemed a bit heavy IIRC but nothing annoying. I never found out if the A2 engine is the latest version or not. The behavior blocker is some "in house" engine although I suspect it is some 3rd party, not in house. The previous version of ashampoo antispyware had the A2 sigs and engine but on the Emsi forum they claimed the price would be higher for ashampoo if the A2 behavior guard was used. I'm assuming they meant mamutu. Anyway, this should run about the same as A2. The A2 behavior blocker prohibited some programs from working in the past- like admuncher. So maybe this would work, or be worth a try, for those that had trouble with A2 in the past but like the A2/Ikarus combo.
     
  14. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    Actually, even the Free Firewall has the free license thing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  15. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    189
    erm is this supposed to be used with an existing Antivirus?
     
  16. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Is it for free?I don't think so.I think it's a promotion for 6 months license.
     
  18. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Exactly..:)
     
  19. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    I, for example, received a license to 31/12/2011 ...
    Thanks PintoX
     

    Attached Files:

  20. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    Can someone give a conclusive proof of the engines being used for AV and AS parts? I find it running very good - light and unobtrusive. Emsisoft shud take a lesson on how to integrate 2 engines without affecting system performance.
     
  21. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    For the last version of Ashampoo antispyware I made a post in the Emsi forum and a mod answered. Try that.
     
  22. rogervernon

    rogervernon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    289
    Ashampoo NEVER stop sending you spam.
    Luckily it gores to a "junk mail" address, in my case.
    :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  23. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    thx great treat

    correct so i unsubscribed to newletter
     
  24. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    The license I received is good for 180 days. I'm in the USA; looks like duration is region specific. That's long enough for me in this arena. By that time I'll look for who's got the next best something for nothing.

    It's replacing PC Tools AV free v8 on one of my old systems.

    The A2 engine is 5.00.0000.0011.

    Ikarus is T3 Extended Virus Engine (EVE) 1.01.0080.0000.

    Mamutu is absent. There are four components that "monitor" autostart, LSPs, IE BHOs and the hosts file.

    As did PCTAV, Ashampoo A-M is running well with SpyShelter free and AVG ID Protect (recent $2.75 license) in XP sp3. Some solid protection on the cheap.
     
  25. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I noticed on another forum of complaints that Ashampoo AM does not have self protection. Can you confirm this or not? thanks

    PS- I am running the AVG IDP and it seems to be able to withstand some shutdowns from task manager, some just restart, of the 4-5 processes running. I think one cannot be killed and the other restrats and the rest are killed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.