Armed Assault 2 (Arrowhead)

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by NoOne, Mar 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NoOne

    NoOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    France
    [RESOLVED] Armed Assault 2 (Arrowhead)

    Hello,

    I ask your attention so that you can enlighten me on one point that I can not solve with LnS.

    I never had a firewall until I realizes that my IP was too scanned/tested ... I therefore, on the advice of a friend, tested various software and one that caught my attention is obviously Look'n Stop. I like it a lot, but I wonder if it is necessary to acquire a license if I can not make it work properly.

    I tested version 2.06 and 2.07 today. (Regardless of version, I don't found what it changed).

    From what I understand, to allow access to my computer with some server software, I create the rules themselves into Source: PC->Net ... and if just use the software/games as a customer, I put them in Destination: PC-> Net.

    -

    With the basic rules:
    Everything seems to work.

    Except in Trackmania.
    Although the game starts and runs, I have constantly a message : can not find the UDP ports.
    I created two rules for this game using the default ports 2350-2351 and 3450-3451
    1) IP-> TCP/UDP-> Destination: all IP, PORT 2350-2351
    2) IP-> TCP/UDP-> Destination: all IP, PORT 3450-3451
    The game seem to run.. so no really problem.

    Except in Armed Assault 2 (Arrowhead).
    The game uses ports 2302-2303 to play and 2305 for VoIP, while UDP.
    So I created one rule:
    1) IP-> UDP> Destination: all IP, PORT 2302-2305
    I hear my friends in the game, but they don't hear me. If I leave LnS, my voice going on, so there is definitely a concern with the rules ... bases or mine. I think I read in the newspaper about a redundancy rule ... block everything else.

    With the advanced rules:
    Everything seems to work ... except Trackmania and Armed Assault 2.
    Same reasons.

    With the customs rules found on the forum (phantom & others):
    Almost nothing works, even if I make the rules. Also I do not understand the usefulness of certain rules.

    The position of the rule in the list did it matter?
    If yes (I think), where do I put my personal rules?

    -

    Finally, I would like to know if it is not "safer" to have a single rule that blocks all and add my own rules depending on the software being used, rather than having 50 rules which are useless and even open other doors.
    Useless ... for my use, of course.

    Sorry for being long, but I was to try to be as clear as possible. Thank you for reading.

    Excuse my imperfect English. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  2. biscuits

    biscuits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    111
    Yes but remember that LnS works by filtering packets so don't focus on the softwares you are using. Prioritize rules for your OS than work your way to your various apps. Every competent LnS ruleset has a "block all other packets" rule. It blocks all packets except those packets allowed by rules above it. The way rules are applied in LnS is from the top first, going to the bottom.


    I am no expert but try adding this allow rule:
    Direction: Outbounds
    Protocol: UDP

    Source(PC>>Net):
    Ethernet: equals my @
    IP Address: equals my @
    UDP Port: 2305
     
  3. NoOne

    NoOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    France
    Thank you for the clarifications.

    Oh okay, I understand. I'm so stupid. ;)
    I will test it this weekend and I'll keep you informed.

    Thank you for your interest.
     
  4. NoOne

    NoOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    France
    With your help, now, my friends can hear me in the game "Armed Assault".
    Thank you so much biscuits. ;)
     
  5. biscuits

    biscuits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    111
    I'm glad that it worked. You may also "harden" your new rule by specifying what applications should be running to activate it. Just highlight do the ff:

    highlight the rule-->click edit-->click applications then add your VoiP software

    Include Arrowhead if the rule doesn't work.
     
  6. NoOne

    NoOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    France
    Yes I always do with the rules that I create.
    ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.