are you using OpenDNS?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lodore, Dec 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    HI, i have just started using open dns by putting the information into my router.
    pages do seem to load faster now.
    and very easy to change to it.
    I was wondering who else uses OpenDNS and do you think its worth using?
    and if so why do you use it.
    i use it because its faster and correct spelling mistakes in addresses and the antiphising is nice to.

    is there any privacy concerns using OpenDNS?
    lodore
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2006
  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    I don't see speed improvement. So no need in my case.
     
  3. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Yeah, I use it for now, but I haven´t noticed any speed improvement, but I hope the phishing protection works.
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    I have to try it, seems interesting
    lodore: are you using DNS relay?
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Erm whats dns relay?

    i just changed the DNS settings in my router.
    lodore
     
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    D-Link support
    X-bit labs
    I thought that was the case because you said:
     
  7. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    This is what they say in their FAQ:
    They can track, if they want to. But so can your ISP. I guess it comes down to if you trust them or not.
     
  8. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    I think i give it a try again and configure my 'Mobil net switch' for OpenDNS again.
     
  9. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Tommy: what ISP do you have?
     
  10. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Fibertel.
     
  11. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Arnet is more prone to DNS failures and slowdowns :(
    Iplan is the best ISP
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i went to the dns server tab on my bt voyager 2091 and cant find a tick box for dns relay.
    lodore
     
  13. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    What options do you have in "DNS Server"?
    Remember to change the DNS options in the host. They must target the router IP
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    heres a screen shot with the opendns ,
    lodore
     

    Attached Files:

  15. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    I've been using OpenDNS for several weeks. I do notice a speed increase on very popular sites (YouTube, CNet). Day to day, slightly better than my ISP.
     
  16. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i use opendns on one of my computers and it seems alright. certainly no negative effects.
     
  17. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'm not using it because sometimes I have to visit Phishing sites, although it does look like a very good idea.
     
  18. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    Another thread about Open DNS here.
    I've been using them for a bit over a month now with good results. I'd pretty much forgotten that I'd switched to Open DNS and planned on comparing them more closely to my ISPs DNS. Using i2k, the only DSL service available here for anyone who's not a Verison phone customer. Just to see if anything had changed, I loaded in my ISPs DNS addys. Much slower! They'd told me a bit over a month ago that they were having server problems then. Must be a chronic problem for them. Open DNS has been quite reliable.
    Regarding whether to trust Open DNS any more than your ISP, haven't seen any reason not to. For that matter, when I looked at the settings in the router my ISP supplied, I'm wondering if they're the ones I should distrust. Horrible security settings for something they said was pre-configured, including administrative access enabled from the web, controlled by a little 8 character password. My old dialup service thru the local public library is much more secure than this DSL service, and more reliable. Just slow.
    Rick

    Good thing I kept the dialup service active. The DSL is down again, even their website.
     
  19. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    I was using it for a while. Did not see much improvement. I have just switch over to OpenDNS again and will give it another shot. Saving my vote for later.
     
  20. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    seems that you are out of luck. Try to find other settings related to DNS such as DNS forwarding or DNS cache
     
  21. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I do not use it, because I can not, those servers are on the other side of the planet. [​IMG]
     
  22. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I wouldn't say that London is on the other side of the planet from where you are :)
    But as I stated earlier, I cant see any difference whether I use my ISP´s (Sweden) DNS or OpenDNS regarding speed.
     
  23. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I saw only 2 servers in USA, but if they have a list of servers, they hide it very well. [​IMG]
     
  24. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Drat, my bad. You are right TheTom_SK. I didnt read the info carefully and trusted the map picture of Neotrace. London is coming soon.
     
  25. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Since this has turned into questions about options for "DNS Server", locations of DNS servers, screen shot with the opendns etc,....We have moved this thread to a more appropriate forum for continued discussion and de-polled this thread.

    We would ask that our poll threads contain some thought and consist of more complex multiple choice questions....not just agree/disagree or yes/no.

    Bubba
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.