Are there restriction on restoring?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Howard Kaikow, May 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    In another forum, somebody claimed that if, e.g., a mobo was replaced, it might not be possible to restore the volumes in a backup archive.

    Is this true?

    Why?

    Where documented?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It would be like restoring to different hardware - you might need Universal Restore unless the video card is re-used.
     
  3. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
  4. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Let me clarify.

    I was asking about restoring volumes, not whether you could actually boot, that's a separate issue.

    In another forum, somebody was claiming that one could not even restore the volume.
     
  5. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Sounds like nonsense to me.

    And as far as booting goes, obviously driver/chipset incompatibilities can cause a machine not to boot following a restore. However I have had an amount of success transferring systems by either setting the video adapter to generic VGA before backing up, or (where required) using Windows Repair in order to get a machine to boot.

    F.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It's possible that the person was refering to a scenario like this:
    1. An image backup exists for the computer and restore works properly.
    2. The motherboard dies and is replaced.
    3. User boots from the Acronis Recue cd and it can't find any drives, errors on boot, locks up, keyboard/mouse doesn't work, etc.

    In this sense, I suppose this person's statement would be correct. The change in the motherboard made it where you couldn't restore the image.

    However, rarely is this situation permanent. There are driver updates, custom ISO's, BartPE plug-ins, etc. that get around problems such as these.
     
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Yes, but he said that the files could not be restored, which sure betta bee utter nonsense. He probably meant what others have stated in this thread.

    A number of years ago I did something entirely foolish, and it worke, but I'll never do it again.

    I copied an OS volume to another volumel and MANUALLY edited the registry (10s of thousands of edits) and (un)instal files and ..., as well as modifing drive letter references.

    A really dumb thing to do, but I got away with it. Over the years, AFAIK, I missed only 1 or 2 improper drive references.

    I should have applied that luck to the stock market!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.