Archive_db

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by ward, Mar 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    After creating a backupcapsule, appears on the D partiton (wiche contains the win. recovery) a file named archive_db. What mean this strange case?
    Thx in advancve.
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    archive_db is a directory where Paragon keeps track of all your archives' location and display them the Archive tab,
     
  3. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    Is it normal that the archive_db file is placed on the partition D: where windows xp recovery is standing, and not on the BU capsule partition?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  4. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    you can change the location of the directory by opening the layout.ini file located in your paragon folder. Typically it would be installed on the drive where Paragon is installed, not where the archives reside.
     
  5. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium

    Can you explain me how to do that?
     
  6. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    You'll see the following lines in the layout.ini

    Archive directory name = "arcdir"
    Archive directory location = "search://archive_db"

    change to

    Archive directory name = "arcdir"
    Archive directory location = "C:/yourpath/yourfolder/"
     
  7. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    In "your path/yourfolder/", is it the path where now archive_db exist, namely in part. D, or is it the whole paragon file in the program files?

    Maybe it's easyer the reinstall the whole program?
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  8. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium

    I mean, is it the path of the paragon file in the map C: programs
     
  9. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    The folder can be created and saved virtually anywhere, not necessarily have to be in program files or paragon folders. So it's up to you to have this folder saved for archive tracking purposes.
     
  10. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    I writed C:/program files/paragon software/hard disk manager 2010 suit and now when I click on the archives tab there appears nothing more in the page.
    What is the problem?

    PS: I don't understand what I exact must write, meaby if it can, please give me an example to writing.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  11. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    You created a new archive list, so it should be empty. Inside the program, if you want, you can repopulate the archive list by adding the backups you previously had, which will write them to the new arcdir folder.
     
  12. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    OK Tommy. Thanks again for your intervention.
     
  13. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
  14. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thank you Raza. It's dificult for me to exact understand the explanation there, because i'm unknown with whole pc thalks, i think to understand that i must write C:/program files/paragon software/hard disk manager 2010 suite/ Is that correct?
     
  15. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    In your "Program Files", inside the "Paragon Software" folder, you will find a file named "layout.ini". Open this file in notepad. Scroll down and then replace two lines with these below:

    Archive directory name = "arcdir"
    Archive directory location = "file://./"

    Just copy and paste over them. Make a backup of the original layout.ini, if you want to undo the above procedure.

    Now the archive directory will be created inside the "program2" folder of 'Paragon Software" and not anywhere else on your computer.
     
  16. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    OOO.K, thank you verry much Raza :)

    PS: i think the archive exist now in partition D: (named arcdir), can i that move to the new archivemap and how?
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2010
  17. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    The only way to move the old archive history to the new location is by doing it from inside Paragon. Under the "Archive" tab, click on "add an existing archive to the database" icon. It is the one with a "green + sign". Browse to the archive location and add it to the list. This will populate your new archive directory with your existing archive history.
     
  18. ward

    ward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    Belgium
    OK it's done. Thank you verry much again. :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.