Application icons

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by aptisman, Dec 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aptisman

    aptisman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    80
    My experience is that when an application is deleted from your system the icon in LnS changes from the application, or in some cases the generic, icon changes to a question mark.

    I have just changed from Avast 4 to Avast 5 and the update application has a question mark in LnS. See pic.

    pic.jpg

    Not a problem but I am just wonder why, and can it be changed? Or maybe I should ask this question in the Avast forum?
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    This is simply because the icon comes from the application executable file.
    If this file is removed Look 'n' Stop can no longer the icon, and the default "?" icon is displayed instead.

    You can safely just remove the entry in the Application Filtering tab. Look 'n' Stop will do it itself when some room is required in that list.

    Frederic
     
  3. aptisman

    aptisman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    80
    Sorry, perhaps I did not make myself clear.

    The application exec file has not been removed, it is still very much in use.
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Avast.SETUP usually gets extracted and used every-time to do update check, then she gets deleted ... or did something change?
     
  5. aptisman

    aptisman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    80
    Sorry, I don't know about that.

    Something I have just noticed. I has LnS Application tab open and Avast did an automatic update attempt. Whilst doing this the Avast Update icon in LnS changed briefly to a generic one before reverting the the ?.

    I tried to replicate this doing a manual update but the icon did not change.
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Like I have indicated, Avast.SETUP isn’t an static hdd file, when it’s scheduled to update, it’ll be temporarily extracted by a run-time file and called upon, upon completion it’ll automatically be deleted, very fast process normally and hence the reason you see ? for application icon unless you viewing the application icon while it’s in action.

    Manual updating is done through another process, If I can remember correctly, .. and I can’t remember which one, ... I’m not using Avast!.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.