AppGuard

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Infected, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    That's why I said before and I say it again AG likes to be alone
     
  2. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,236
    Location:
    Europe
    Well appguard is the lightest of those three, and u only need 1 license (altho more expensive normally). But appguard is easy to set up, kinda. And at least u know it works. WV and HMPA claim stuff but how effective they are, who knows... Maybe MT tips has tests of em
     
  3. scip

    scip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    internet
    i understand thx yáll
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    It's very complete just need your firewall and WD scaner;)
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    But if you choose to run the other 2 you mention before you are just fine too in my opinion;)
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    HMP.A works fine with AppGuard here.
     
  7. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yes I also ran both together, when I still used AppGuard Solo.
    Can't remember what provisions I made, if any.
     
  8. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    hello,

    any advice where Can I download Appguard Solo install ? I losted my old install. Regards
     
  9. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,084
    Email BlueRidge and they'll send you the link in an email.
     
  10. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    thanks a lot :)
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    I just got an email about automatic renewal, I was hoping I wouldn't need to go through the hassle of a new license for the discount, but the renewal still states the old price, so I guess I'll have to cancel my old license and get a new one.
     
  12. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    I updated my Windows 10 from 1909 to 21H1 and AppGuard seems to be working fine even though they haven't released an update for quite some time. (I'm on v6.2.9.113).
     
  13. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    France
    Just updated to 6.7.39.2.
     
  14. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,701
    Thanks for the heads up.
    Any changelog?
    I couldn't find anything.
     
  15. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Same here. No problems so far. My settings were retained. No changelog on their website so far.
     
  16. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    France
    The only difference is I cannot launch Vivaldi unsandboxed. AG blocks it. I have always used Lockdown mode, but now there seems to be an issue. Well, I always launch it sandboxed anyway.
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,236
    Location:
    US
    Is anyone here using Appguard with Windows 11? Reason I ask, Appguard used to require Secure Boot to be disabled. Of course, Secure Boot is required in Windows 11. Hoping that Appguard is compatible with Windows 11.
    Thanks, Acadia
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    Update went succesfully.

    I don't use sandboxie but Vivaldi launches fine with Lockdown mode. (Vivaldi 4.1.2369.10 64-bit.)
     
  19. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    France
    I can't understand where that issue comes from, since my settings haven't changed : here Vivaldi is just part of the guarded apps list, like Waterfox and Brave (which work great btw).
    Anyway, it doesn't bother me that much, because I only launch it unsandboxed when I update it.
     
  20. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,630
    I haven't istalled the latest version yet. Still looking for a changlog, but they do not seem to publish any changelogs.
     
  21. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,701
    Updated and running smooth.
     
  22. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,657
    Location:
    USA
    Is anyone else unable to launch a guarded app from the desktop after updating AG? AppGuard blocks Tor Browser from launching from the desktop. I updated AG a week ago, but i'm just now catching this. Tor Browser (firefox.exe) and tor.exe are on my Guarded Apps List, so they should be able to launch. I removed them and added them back but that did not help.

    I also discovered that if I try adding Tor Browser to the Guarded Apps List without removing it from the list first, it will allow me to add a second instance of Tor Browser to Guarded Apps List without informing me that it is already on the List. I can keep adding Tor Browser to the Guarded Apps List and it will add a 3rd, 4th, 5th, etc.. instance of Tor Browser to the Guarded Apps List, all with the same path.

    Also, I was disappointed to see that this update did not add an option to make exceptions for the local security authority protection (lsass.exe). There needs to be an exception to allow the user's Antivirus or Anti-exploit software to read the memory of lsass.exe. Blocking one's AV from reading the memory of lsass.exe could potentially protecting the virus or worm and make it easier for it to compromise one's system. AG may prevent one's AV from detecting an inbound attack on the network stack that is exploiting lsass.exe. The protection AG employees seems to be intended to protect lsass.exe from local code execution, which is great, but it may have the negative effect of preventing your AV from mitigating inbound threats that target lsass.exe

    There also badly needs to be a tick box option to select multiple Trusted Publishers at the same time so the user can remove all unwanted digital certificates at the same time. It must have taken me 15-20 minutes to remove all the digital certificates from the list that I have no use for. May hand actually began to hurt from so much clicking. Having a lot of digital certificates on the list that one doesn't need isn't a good idea from a security point of view.
     
  23. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    I think the Registry Exceptions tab in settings is new, that might be one of the changes in version 6.7.

    Same here for both issues. My Tor Browser is run from Documents folder though and not Desktop, so the issue doesn't seem to be related to deskop folder. When trying to start Tor Browser, the browser window opens, but then Windows throws an error about not having access to Tor.exe. AG also shows that it blocked firefox.exe from launching, even though it seems to have partially launched.

    Agreed 100%. I thought at least I don't have to bother because I already removed them, but the update added them all back. Though as I understand it, the files signed by trusted publishers are exceptions only in Protected mode. In Locked Down mode, nothing from that list is allowed to run.
     
  24. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,657
    Location:
    USA
    This has to be a bug. One would think that tor.exe should be allowed to launch since it's guarded and also in the same parent folder as firefox.exe

    I will send a bug report at my earliest opportunity. I will also mention needing an exception option to allow one's AV to read the memory of lsass.exe and a tick box option for digital certificates.
     
  25. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,657
    Location:
    USA
    Btw.. I have experienced a problem with explorer.exe, My PC, and the desktop toolbar not responding since upgrading. The only way to fix it is to reboot windows. I'm not sure if it is due to upgrading AG or maybe it is just a coincidence. It seems to only occur when I use makemkv application. The thing is, I have been using makemkv for a while, and I didn't experience this problem until upgrading AG. I was contemplating whether there may be a conflict occurring between AG and makemkv. AG shows no blocked events in the event log. It could just be a coincidence though, and maybe makemkv is causing these problems on it's own. I would uninstall AG and see if the problem still occurs, but it would take me literally 30-40 minutes just to reconfigure AG with my custom settings. I have added a lot of vulnerable executables to the user-space that I would have to add back. I could try copying AG's policy file from the user-space and try restoring my settings but that has not always worked in the past.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.