AppGuard

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Infected, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    I don't use MS Teams, so this may not help. AG blocks anything from running located in user-space by default. You can add an application in user-space to Guarded Apps in order to run it. Chrome for example doesn't install to Program Files folder by default, but AppData in the user folder, which is user-space. Maybe MS Teams does the same.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,173
    Thanks man. I will check it out when I get home tonight. Cheers.
     
  3. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,428
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    AppGuard.png
    https://www.appguard.us/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/AppGuard_Solo_User_Guide6_0.pdf
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,173
    Thanks guys. Teams is a weird one for sure. I've tried a few things so far to no avail.

    Will keep experimenting.
     
  5. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,582
    try the other forum. ;)
     
  6. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    France
    I have just installed AG Solo on my new laptop, and there seems to be a conflict with Sandboxie's deletion. I keep getting these messages :
    Tue Aug 11 10:50:20 2020 Prevented process <Interpréteur de commandes Windows> from writing to <c:\sandbox\brendan\__delete_opera_01d66fb904f9aca0\desktop.ini>.
    I had never had that on my old Win 7 machine. I don't know what's going on here. I would be grateful if someone could tell me what I should tweak to make it work. Thanks a lot.

    So far, I have solved the issue by adding sandboxie\start.exe to the power apps list, but I am not sure this is the safest way to go.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2020
  7. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,236
    Location:
    Europe
    Just wanna say that there's a 30 day free trial for appguard now, you can access it by going to https://www.blueridgenetworks.com/ if you scroll down a bit u will see
    • Free trial download of AppGuard Solo to protect home personal computer
    DOWNLOAD APPGUARD SOLO

    Which leads you here https://sites.fastspring.com/blueridgenetworks/instant/90dayfreetrialappguardsolo

    Once you go to checkout it says this
    upload_2021-2-1_14-4-56.png

    So I assume it does not charge. Havent tested it tho, Maybe some other day.

    Also, appguard solo is now on sale, go here https://sites.fastspring.com/blueridgenetworks/instant/appguardsolo-sp , only 34 euro for a year. If you use the old link https://sites.fastspring.com/blueridgenetworks/instant/appguardsolo its still 76, so use the new one. 34.08 euro is 41.19 usd, divided by 12 = 3.43 usd per month. Even cheaper than aol tech fortress (3.99 usd per month after first month) and bravatek tuitio (4.16 usd per month).
     
  8. scip

    scip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    internet
    how long does the discount go ?
    if i make the free trial now then i have to pay 76€ after 30 days because the discount is no more ?
    or after 30 days of free trial the software will be deactivated if i dont buy a license ?
     
  9. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,236
    Location:
    Europe
    According to the site, they reduced their price by half because of covid. So likely it's not goin anywhere anytime soon, but u never know

    I do not know about the second question. I assume it does not charge you immediately, and I assume you can cancel the trial before it charges you. BUT I DO NOT KNOW.

    And yes, after 30 days it will be deactivated, that I know for sure
     
  10. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,236
    Location:
    Europe
    In any case, if u wanna try it, make sure to pay with paypal. If it does not charge you immediately, then there's a section in paypal where you can cancel subscription.
     
  11. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    France
    My license will expire on March 27th, and I'd be happy to benefit from the current discount offer. However, if I buy it now, will the new license start now, or will it extend my current valid license until March 27th 2022 ?
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If you're talking about the fastspring ($39.95 here) offer, from past experience they won't extend your existing license.
    It would be a new license, probably from when you buy it, not from when you activate it.
     
  13. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,236
    Location:
    Europe
    U have to ask appguard for that https://www.blueridgenetworks.com/contact/

    It definitely won't extend your current license. But whether the new license starts ticking from point of sale or from point of activation, who knows
     
  14. scip

    scip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    internet
    would be good if i could make an account on their page to control my orders and payment....
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    They are essentially geared towards the enterprise, not the consumer market.
    This is apparent from their support also.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    The solo version is made for consumers appguard is for busineses
     
  17. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,052
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, on their Web site Solo is describe to be for "small business"...
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    It's crazy but I said that because they confirm in a email.anyway they reduce its price by 50%
     
  19. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    France
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,173
    They are definitely more geared towards Enterprise.
     
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,428
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I consider it a deceptive marketing site.

    Appears you have to enter credit card info.. As such, you will not be charged for the first 30 days use but you will have to cancel/uninstall prior to 31 days use or you will be charged. Or, you will be charged initially and then a credit will be issued to your card when you cancel/uninstall prior to 31 days use.
     
  22. scip

    scip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    internet
    i have problems to allow some applications like HMPA and Wise Vector
    its all set to allow but like i see in the activity report from AG its still blocking these programs and i dont know more what to do.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 11.PNG
      11.PNG
      File size:
      560 KB
      Views:
      20
  23. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,092
    Location:
    Mexico
    Set WV and HMPA as Power Apps.
     
  24. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,236
    Location:
    Europe
    HMPA Wise Vector and Appguard? Absolutely overkill seriously bro

    Appguard already protects browser and stuff from exploits, why HMPA? At least wise vector adds something on top of appguard (even if unnecessary), but if I was you I'd remove HMPA for sure and probably Wise Vector unless u really want something from it (and only that part)
     
  25. scip

    scip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    internet
    was already set as power app

    so then i rather uninstall AG because i have HMPA before and i think with WV its ok.
    its also my thought that these programs are in conflict with AG.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.