Appguard +Sandboxie conflict

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by manar58, Dec 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. manar58

    manar58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    75
  2. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
  3. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    manar58, The tip from Zyrtec to the suggestion by Kid Shamrock has worked well for me in the past (with Xp Home Sp3 32bit) and maybe also in the immediate future as I'm thinking about adding Sandboxie to my current setup.
    Good luck and hopefully it works for you.
     
  4. STONEMAN

    STONEMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    98
    Location:
    London,South Of The River
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    thanks for the tips might give Appguard another try with my setup
     
  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    Nor currently running sandboxie at the moment but the steps mentioned above should resolve it.Its a great combo SBIE and AppGuard.:thumb:
     
  6. manar58

    manar58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    75
  7. manar58

    manar58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    75
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    Thanks Mr djohn....
     
  8. manar58

    manar58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    75
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    sorry for my poor languag... worked with windows7 64bit
    thanks Mr LoneWolf :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  9. manar58

    manar58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    75
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    How to do this plz:Also add c:\sandbox folder to the folder exception list under the guarded apps tab with read/write permissions.
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Re: Appguard +Sandboxie conflit

    Yes.
    1.png

    Also.........
    2.png
     
  11. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    396
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    Seriously is there any chance to run appguard + sandboxie on a win7 x64 machine? I tried the steps with excluded container and exceptions in memory guard but still it just doesn't work properly together. So do I have to wait for blueridge networks' "Power Apps" which they might add to the consumer version of appguard? Or is there any other workaround to get sandboxie work along with appguard?
     
  12. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Yes. You can use the sandbox browser desktop shortcut or right click 'send to' option to run sandboxed apps and AppGuard will not interfere,

    OR

    If running forced sandbox processes set AppGuard at High and change the privacy settings of guarded apps from Yes to No in the guarded apps tab,

    OR

    if you want to run AppGuard at Lock-down don't run sandboxed apps guarded by removing the tick against them in the guarded apps tab. As the apps usually launch from Program Files or Program Files (x86) folder AppGuard does not interfere with the sandboxing process. If you then move your sandbox container to user space AppGuard will still improve protection of sandboxed (but not guarded) apps by monitoring things downloaded or stored into the sandbox. (NB this would not work for portable apps or Chrome for example that launches from user space so needs to be guarded unless you install it in Program Files or use a chromium alternative)

    See http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=11781 for the explanation

    Cheers
     
  13. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    396
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    Running Appguard in Locked-down now, so much easier to configure it to work properly with Sandboxie.

    I simply added my sandboxie installation folder and all applications that I want to run sandboxed to system space(User space tab->add application directory->change "Include" tab from "yes" to "no")

    If you have installed these applications/Sandboxie itself on your system partition into the standard c:/program files folder you don't need to do this cause it is system space by default.

    You only have to add them when you installed the application/Sandboxie to a different drive like D:/Programs.... D:/MyPrograms whatever...

    Then added the sandboxie container folder to User Space with "Include" tab turned to "Yes". That denies all execution from sandboxie container folder.

    Last but not least added SandboxieRpcSs.exe to memory guard exception list with write/read permissions. Not really necessary I guess but I got a message from appguard when copying files from sandbox to a different sandbox. No big deal though. And that's it. Works well for me.


    With this setup you basically have a double execution prevention. I downloaded a random exe file with my sandboxed browser and tried to run it. Sandboxie won't allow it due to DropRights. Then I moved the exe file to my "Install Sandbox" and run it again, sandboxie then asks for admin rights/password. I typed the admin password/ granted permissions to run the exe file but right after that AppGuard denies execution because the sandboxie container belongs to User Space. You can still install it by disabling AppGuard obviously.

    It is like layered protection with double execution prevention + sandbox which I think is really cool. Works really great.
     
  14. manar58

    manar58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    75
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.