AppGuard 4.x 32/64 Bit - Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Jryder54, Oct 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    Correct. It is blocked, even if AppGuard is on Allow Installs. :(
    To clarify, the Installer will run, but when I proceed to install, it will stop because CCleaner Installer is prevented to "write" to ccleaner.exe.
     
  2. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    @XhenEd -- look at this !

    upload_2016-8-18_1-37-53.png
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    open Appguard > Guarded Apps > did you put "Internet download Manager Installer" in Guarded apps?
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    so it is a driver issue...
     
  5. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    That could be a similar issue I'm facing.
    But what really catches my attention is that we have similar AppGuard reports regarding CCleaner opened through IDM. The difference is that mine is outright blocked, but yours continued.
     
  6. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    No. Just trying to replicate issue reported by @XhenEd. So was in process of installing IDM and then updating.
     
  7. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    If you set Protection Level to Allow Installs before pushing Open button all is OK.

    If you push Open button - which launches CCleaner installer - wait a second or two - then set Protection Level to Allow Installs and then push CCleaner Install button then installation gets blocked.
     
  8. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    But I always lower the protection level in AppGuard before clicking any installer.
     
  9. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    No. Some kind of screw-up; AG blocks install of IDM.

    I reboot system and can install IDM no problem.

    I had been trying to replicate issue reported by @XhenEd; unisntalled\reinstalled IDM at least 10 times with no problem.

    Then out of nowhere what is shown in above image happened.

    This is the kind of bug that BRN can assign to two software engineers who work on it full-time for a month before they can replicate it - if they can replicate it at all. If they do replicate it, then it might take them another month or longer to figure out what\why it is happening.
     
  10. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    You have to lower protection to Allow Installs BEFORE selecting Open (IDM) button.

    If you lower protection to Allow Installs AFTER selecting Open (IDM) button, CCleaner installer launches, wait a second or two, lower protection to Allow Installs... CCleaner installer is blocked.
     
  11. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    No. I am able to replicate your issue. It involves when Allow Installs is set.

    IDM > Select Open > CCleaner Installer launches > wait a second > lower protection to Allow Installs > click CCleaner Install > Install is blocked

    IDM > lower protection to Allow Installs > Select Open > CCleaner Installer launches > click CCleaner Install > Install proceeds as expected
     
  12. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    But that is what I did and always do.
    I tried again. This time, I set AppGuard on Install Mode before re-downloading through IDM, and install it again.
    Untitled2.png
     
  13. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    @XhenEd

    These are steps I am following to get IDM to install:

    NOTE: If you reverse Steps 2 and 3, then the <CCleaner Installer> will launch Guarded and the installation will fail.

    upload_2016-8-18_2-16-40.png
    upload_2016-8-18_2-16-54.png
    upload_2016-8-18_2-17-39.png
    upload_2016-8-18_2-17-57.png
     
  14. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    That is what I did. :)
     
  15. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    I discovered something just now!
    CCleaner installed successfully! I already suspected that maybe it's the custom location for the downloaded items of IDM that is the problem. So I changed the location for Programs to its default location, and then voila! CCleaner is installed.

    @hjlbx @guest
    Can you try to download with IDM, and then select a non-system partition as a download location? Mine D://.
     
  16. guest

    guest Guest

    lol i told you earlier to try download on the desktop :D
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    Appguard has serious issues with non-system partitions, i shout it since months...
     
  18. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    Awww... hahaha... I thought you meant Desktop computer. :D
     
  19. guest

    guest Guest

    ... :argh:
     
  20. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    @XhenEd what is the file path that you downloaded ccsetup521.exe to ?

    If USB Flash drive (D:\), then I can reproduce. However, if I just download ccsetup521.exe using IDM to Flash Drive, do not open ccsetup521.exe with IDM but instead navigate directly to D:\ccsetup521.exe and launch, then install of CCleaner proceeds as expected.

    IF it is an AG bug, then it is a highly specific one.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2016
  21. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    Sorry, it's E:\ for me, actually. The exact file path is E:\IDM\Programs.
    It's not a flash drive. It's just a partitioned hard drive.

    I can also successfully install CCleaner if the installer is directly launched. This is with Allow Install of AppGuard and no IDM mediation.
     
  22. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,437
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Maybe a dumb question, but ...

    In the absence of an export/import function, how does one copy back a backed up version of the appdata appguardpolicy.xml because this is file is obviously protected?

    I regularly back up this file, but how do I restore an old version?
     
  23. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Disable TamperGuard on Advanced tab > copy both User xml in AppData\Roaming and All User xml in Program Data > Re-Enable TamperGuard on Advanced tab
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    and logout- login to see the changes.
     
  25. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    He means when you "reinstall" the copies.

    Yes -- it's a pain - but it sure does beat losing your settings and having to re-create them manually. On top of it, you cannot import the xmls to Standard\Limited User Accounts; in those accounts the settings must be created manually.

    Import\Export is to be implemented. No ETA.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.