AppDefend v1.000 Public Beta

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by Jason_R0, Nov 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    That would be best, that way you will know how this beta will act/react on your system. Make sure you Export any Application Rules you have created in RegDefend before uninstalling GSS 1.010, then you can import them back into the beta and re-enable them.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Antarctica, Yes you need to uninstall RD and reboot before installing the GSS Beta. :)

    Pilli
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,764
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's right!! That is what I did and no problems!! Just reboot before installing the New Beta which has both Reg and AppDefend!!

    HTH,

    Cheers,
     
  4. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    773
    i am not Jason, but: "yes"
     
  5. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks guys for clarify this.:) :)
     
  6. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    A new version of the AppDefend/RegDefend betas has been released, it is available through the auto updater.

    Changes :-

    -RUNDLL32 and SVCHOST are now added as rules based on their command lines (increased security for permanent rules)
    -Fixed some tooltips
    -Now show whether AppDefend or Regdefend has been disabled from the GUI in the statusbar
    -Fixed clock showing incorrect 12 hour time
    -Added more items to right click menu on systray, enabling you to set the PROFILE for AppDefend and RegDefend. Allows quick way to disable protection
    -Changed the AppDefend Maintenance tab GUI
    -Added "Update Checksum" and "Remove" buttons to the SHA256 checksum area
    -Changed some icons and wording in the GUI
    -Added Restore to Default option in AppDefend maintenance tab
    -Now remember AppDefends column order, widths and sorting preferences
    -When adding an application in the AppDefend Maintenance tab it now switches to the permissions tab and selects the item
    -Fixed keyboard navigation of AppDefend list in permissions tab
    -Fixed bug in driver which occured during some unique registry operations
    -Some major memory optimizations to the GUI code, saved at least 1-2MB of memory usage
    -Optimized starting up procedure to reduce memory usage
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2005
  7. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Something seems amiss in the update. It downloads and then says it needs to shut down GSS...which it does. However, on restart, the new version is not applied. If I click on check for update again, it wants to redownload the new update.

    Windows XP-SP2, GSS 1.100, AppDefend 1.000, RegDefend 2.050 with both AppDefend and RegDefend licensed and registered.
     
  8. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Siliconman,

    Does it restart itself or do you need to manually restart it?
     
  9. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    I have to manually restart it. Maybe I'm not waiting long enough for it to restart itself?......only waiting about 30 seconds.
     
  10. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    GSSUpdater.exe isn't being created for some reason or another. After you have downloaded the updates, close down the GUi and manually run gssupdater.exe and see if it works then.

    I am looking into this as you aren't the only one to experience it.
     
  11. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Part of the download shows GSS64.exe while it is downloading? Is that the 64 bit version coming through?
     
  12. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    I wasn't taking into account the 64bit version when the updater was written, which is why for this once off time, the 32bit users will download the 64bit version through the autoupdate process. The updater will delete the 64bit version if you are on 32bit however, and from then on with the newer gss.exe you will never download the 64bit version again.
     
  13. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Siliconeman,
    I believe the update includes both versions and autoselects the correct OS

    HTH Pilli
     
  14. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Manually executed Gssupdater. It forced a system reboot and now GSS is V1.110, AppDefend V1.000, RegDefend V2.050. Is that correct? The "check for update" no longer tries to download a new version.

    Thanks much for the prompt assistance!
     
  15. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Siliconman,

    Those versions are correct yes. I won't be updating AppDefends version in the beta until it is past a final release, but you can determine which beta version you are on from the Ghost Security Suite version number in the titlebar.

    Glad to hear the update went ok after that, I'll try and fix having to manually run gssupdater.exe
     
  16. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Very nice changes in this update. Looks great!

    Quick Question:

    "-Now show whether AppDefend or Regdefend has been disabled from the GUI in the statusbar"

    Should we see an icon change (color or X or whatever) if one of the processess is disabled? The right click menu does show disabled status.
     
  17. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    I have re-uploaded the install file which contains these updates for anyone having problems, and also for new users.

    http://www.ghostsecurity.com/downloads/appdefend_betasetup.exe

    Uninstall any previous version of Ghost Security Suite (RegDefend/AppDefend) prior to installing, if you have to use the installer.
     
  18. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    I have left the changes of the actual icon until a later version, simply because it is going to be undergoing further changes.
     
  19. meargh

    meargh Guest

    When I'm on the log tab, and click Search History, nothing happens.
     
  20. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    HI meargh
    Those buttons do not currently work in this beta. Logging has yet to be completed.

    HTH Pilli :)
     
  21. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Here is a screenshot from the improved maintenance tab.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Tatersalad

    Tatersalad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    76
  23. isnogood

    isnogood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    France
    I did a clean uninstall of GSS and downloaded the new beta. The version numbers are ok, but "check for update" nag is present every time after reboot, informing there's new version available. Checksum is "failed" for gssupdater in appdefend itself, but there were no other gssupdater present in my system before the new install.

    Second thing, the net access bug for Win2K is still there.

    isnogood
     
  24. meargh

    meargh Guest

    Any chance the GSS interface could be made to suit 120 DPI a little better? It's really not so bad now, but there are a few spots where text gets cut off, button graphics don't fit, and so on. I can provide screen shots if need be.
     
  25. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    252
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I can't find the AD and RD version numbers. Where are they?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.