AppDefend v1.000 Public Beta

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by Jason_R0, Nov 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reve_Etrange

    Reve_Etrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Some ppl like this, others like that... If you have to content everybody, especially if there's no tangible argument beyond "I don't like it that's all", I suppose you must spend your life tweaking cosmetic things.

    -RE
     
  2. enduser

    enduser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    9
    Hi all,
    how about having a poll then, at least we have some data how many like or dislike.:D
     
  3. Reve_Etrange

    Reve_Etrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Yeah why not.

    -RE
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Suave

    I hear you. I don't install all of KAV as when I didn't use F-Prot I didn't install all of it. But a couple of points. Of course we haven't seen F-Prot 4.0 yet either.

    1. I totally agree with you about too big. Trick is to find many/any apps, even standalone, that are as small as Ghost gss is right now.

    2. I totally agree with you about all in one apps. I've tried the beta of KIS2006 and it never stays on my machine. One reason, is I like to disable my AV when I do things like backup. But, and this is a typical example. KAV, I can disable. With KIS I can't right click the Icon and suspend like KAV cause I'd shut down the firewall, so I would have to open it and turn off AV. Pain in the butt. Jason has made it easy to disable each component, so this isn't an issue. What would be a good idea is to be able to do it with a right click on the tray icon.


    I certainly would vote for this approach, because it technically lends towards stablity and this is a problem many venders have with kernel mode.

    Pete
     
  5. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    F-Prot doesn't allow you to exempt specific files from scanning which can cause problems with software that continually writes to logfiles (e.g. firewalls and process protection software like PG/AD). The kicker here is that the CPU utilisation occurs via a file-access hook so gets charged to the application concerned rather than the anti-virus scanner.

    If CPU utilisation is a problem for you then maybe going back to NOD32 and configuring more exceptions would be a better solution (SysInternals' FileMon utility is great for identifying frequently-accessed files).
     
  6. Reve_Etrange

    Reve_Etrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Good point.
     
  7. tony62

    tony62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    Agreed P2K, this is my method in maximizing my resource consumption........... A correctly configured machine.
     
  8. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,105
    Between the 2 GSS processes, it uses approx 15.5 MB which seems a bit excessive to me. This is after the system has been left running for approx 2 hours and is the same as when the system first started. This is also with both RD and AD disabled. Is this normal ?

    EDIT: First mem column is Mem Usage, second is Peak Mem Usage and third is VM Size.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi Defenestration,

    The processes in your screenshot are not related to GSS. You should be seeing only one GSS process: gss.exe. The screenshot below is typical of how GSS performs on my four XP systems. The screenshot was taken after 60 hours uptime.

    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Indeed, the twin avp.exe's are Kaspersky - KAV2006 I'd guess. ;)
     
  11. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,105
    Oops! I took the screenshot of the wrong process (KIS2006). :)

    However, GSS definitely has 2 gss.exe processes on my system, and they both disappear when I exit GSS. I believe the two processes help with self-protection.

    That said, my original comment stands about mem usage of the gss.exe processes. While it's now gone down to about 6.5MB, it stayed at around 15.5MB (as shown by Peak Mem usage) for quite a while.

    Is this normal ?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Kegel

    Kegel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    159

    You ever look at other security apps? Mcafee VS is using over 30 megs as i type this and spysweeper over 25. 15 megs is nothing. I bet IE is using over 40 for you right now...assuming you are using IE. Firefox probably even more.
     
  13. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,105
    I have tested quite a few different security apps and dislike SpySweeper and CounterSpy 1.5 because they are big time memory hogs (near 50 megs for SS, and approx. 60 for CS on my system). This is poorly programmed software and I don't use it.

    I have been impressed with TrojanHunter since the Guard only uses approx. 6 MB. KIS 2006 is usually pretty good to and tends to settle at around 8-10MB.

    I don't use IE, instead preferring Firefox, and while it is a bit of a memory hog I don't have to run it all the time. Also, a browser has to display lots of images and do layout of pages. I expect anything that has to be permanently running to be very efficient.

    Since GSS prides itself on low resource use, I would've expected memory usage to be lower than this.
     
  14. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Defenestration, Peak memory usage does not mean a lot as you can see the basic memory usage of GSS are relatively low, the smaller processe shown is just GSS.exe's self protection BTW.

    Looking at how much CPU GSS uses over time will give you a better indication of how light GSS really is.

    HTH Pilli :)
     
  15. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Will this also include protection against all APT kill methods? I tested APT with Firefox 1.5, and AD was not able to protect against kill 6-8.

    Aside from that: Excellent application!
     
  16. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    APT 6 & 7 are related to windows close messages which are not currently protected by the beta.

    I do not know when Jason will implement those protections but I am sure he will get round to it :)

    Pilli
     
  17. tony62

    tony62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    Another possibility could be the GUI being one and the engine being the other.

    I'm hoping that the engine will become a service in the near future, with the GUI being a startup entry. With the Engine running as a service we should see it getting loaded well before other startup entry process.;)
     
  18. james246

    james246 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Hi Jason,
    Do you yet have any idea when AppDefend is likely to come out of Beta ?
     
  19. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi James,

    A few weeks is the best estimate I can give at this stage. Whilst the BETA is stable, there are some needed features still missing from it.
     
  20. 42go

    42go Guest

  21. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Make sure you have uninstalled RegDefend prior to installing the beta. Also make sure any other security software is disabled when installing.
     
  22. 42g0

    42g0 Guest

    I already did - now closed all security apps. No, it won't install.
     
  23. 42g0

    42g0 Guest

    I chose "ignore" and it seem to be working.............
     
  24. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Being unable to set that value means there is security software blocking it. Since RegDefend blocks that area it is a common thing to happen if you haven't uninstalled RegDefend.

    It should still work ok after a reboot even with that message in most cases anyhow.
     
  25. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Jason,

    I am mixed, right now I have Ghost Security Suite V1.010 installed. If I want to try AppDefend, do I have to remove GSS first?

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.