AOMEI Backupper & AOMEI Partition Assistant

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Masterblaster, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    TheRollbackFrog,

    I am a first time user of Aomei Backupper. I am running AB Pro 4.0.1 (latest version) on Win 10 64 Pro Anniversary Build Fully Updated.
    I have C & D Partition. C System Partition & D Data Partition.
    I created System Backup And its on D Partition.
    I have scheduled Incremental Backup every 6 Hours.

    System Restore disabled.
    Defrag Disabled
    Fast Startup disabled.
    Aomei folder in Program Files (x86)/Program Data excluded in Security Software.

    Few queries -
    1. Menu - Settings - Other - "Automatically check the backup on completion" is disabled by default. I have enabled it. Only Full Backups are checked or Incremental/Differential too?
    What you suggest, to keep the option enabled/disabled?

    2. Menu - Settings - Other - "Dont show tray icon next time" is disabled by default. But I dont see any AB tray icon, any info?

    How stable/reliable is backup/restore/sync, etc... & overall AB Pro?

    Any suggestions/recommendation, etc..?

    Thank You
    Regards
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yash Khan, I am not a user of AOMEI Backupper so I, surely, am the wrong person to answer your questions :). There are many users here who do use the application so I'm sure they'll jump in and help if they can.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    I use it on occasion. I've imaged and restored, and never had a restore problem.
     
  4. kakaka

    kakaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    60
    The thing I do not like about Backupper is:

    It writes data on harddrive i.e. C:\[rgw.anw.xwa.nys.ys] and then delete it.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    That might be their equivalent to VSS. All imaging systems do the same type of thing.
     
  6. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,171
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    It checks all backups on completion. It takes extra time but the extra verification is worth it.

    Backup and restore has always been reliable for any Windows system and works on Linux partitions in sector by sector mode. The only failure I've ever had was imaging and restoring an Apple OSX partition in a hackintoshed PC.

    I don't use the scheduled backups. An incremental backup very 6 hours seems a bit extreme. I could see circumstances where you would want to do that but it would mostly be running a server handling a lot of dynamic content. For an OS, every significant change, software install, or upgrade should get a backup.

    The program has evolved over the years but the image file format has remained the same and is compatible across all versions of the program. I have several different versions on different computers from 2.01 to 3.5.
     
  7. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    TheRollbackFrog, got it & Thank You replying.
    Thank You guys for your support.

    Overall I liked it.

    But Incremental Backup takes more than 10 mins And if you enable Verify backup then total more than 20 mins.

    And when I tried System Backup restore, at the end of the wizard it mentioned will restart system & 2 options were there, Win PE bootable(checked by default) & Linux?
    I thought bootable is not required to perform restore within Windows with AB Pro?

    I have uninstalled it. Now will try Macrium for the first time & see...
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yash Khan, in order to restore the System partition, all imaging products on the market (except AX64 Time Machine v1> require leaving the Active Windows Partition and doing the restoration from another System... in AB's case, that's either a BOOTable WinPE Windows environment or a LINUX restoration environment. I'm not sure about AB but my guess is it can install the separate WinPE BOOTable environment for use when it's asked for, and also an optional LINUX BOOTable environment. Both of these environments are placed as separate images on your main disk and may be "fired up" when needed.

    I would not rely on installed BOOTAble images as the sole source of resoration capability. If that main disk goes bad you need to have an additional EXTERNAL BOOTable media for restoration... AB should be able to produce one or both of the above mentioned recovery medias (UFD and/or CD-based).
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Hi Gang

    From what I can see on Aomei, there is no boot menu provision. You would have to go to a 3 rd party software. As in many other programs, the incrementals take the same time as the base image.

    Also I would skip the auto verify. Tells you the image is okay, but nothing about how it will restore. If you want to check the image, on your system leave a video file. Then after taking the image mount it, and see if you can play the image from the mounted image. If you can you should be good.

    When I was doing a lot with shadowprotect(testing) I found you could verify the image but couldn't restore it. That image couldn't be mounted and examined. On the other hand when I did the test I mentioned, an image never failed to restore. That has proven true with all the imaging software I've tested.

    As was explained to me by SP's lead developer, the whole point was to keep SP's md5 files, not for verifying, but to insure, the images didn't "rot" over long periods of time.

    Pete
     
  10. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    My system C drive is app 47GB/100GB full (HDD)

    AB Pro Incremental backup takes more than 10 mins.
    Can you guys tell me how much time average Macrium Home Incremental backup will take here?
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Depends. My c: drive on this system is 139gb. Full images on all imaging programs take about 16 minutes. If only take 1 incremental a day they take about 1:45 minutes. If I do them hourly they only take about 40 seconds.

    A typical macrium restore from a current image is about 2 minutes.
     
  12. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    Ok, I am going to give Macrium Home a try & will see how it goes here...
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,997
    Aomei Backupper Standard 4.0.2
    http://www.backup-utility.com/changelog.html
     
  14. godless

    godless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Version 4.0.3 (Released 2017-03-27)
    Fixed issue: the computer won't go to Sleep Mode any more after performing backup operation.
    Fixed issue: in some cases, the program crashes when backing up files with long path names.
    Fixed issue: in some cases, the program cannot list files after adding a NAS.
    Fixed issue: in some cases, the program crashes when continuously performing "Partition Restore" operations.
    Fixed issue: the program crashes when restoring files to a network with long path name.
    Fixed issue: incorrect backup type in email notification.
    Fixed issue: sort log incorrectly based on Date or Time.
    Fixed issue: the program notifies file backup succeeded, however, there is no backup image created.
     
  15. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    UK
    AOMEI Backupper Standard Free....

    hxxp://www.backup-utility.com/
     
  16. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    A question about Aomei Backupper - when I shut down my pc, Aomei Backupper scheduler delays shut down - is there any way to avoid this? Not a "biggie'', but it kinda bugs me.
     
  17. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    957
    Unlike Macrium, with AOMEI Backupper there aren't an option to do a 'Add Recovery Boot Menu Option'?

    The workround is to use an app like 'EasyBCD'? [can I uninstall 'EasyBCD' - after using it?]

    Thanks in advance!

    o_O
     
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Well... if you use it to create a BOOT menu item, you'll eventually need it to eliminate your creation. Either that or tramp your way through BCDEDIT.

    Anyway, once you've used it to create an entry, it is no longer needed to maintain that entry.
     
  19. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    957
    @ TheRollbackFrog, thanks for the clarification!
     
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,528
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    @Peter2150 - @TheRollbackFrog



    I picked up a free pro version from a promo of this the other day at MT.

    How does it stack up? I guess when all is said and done you really can't have too many backup reserves as long as they work right?
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    It works fine. Just won't break any speed records. It isn't one of my regulars.
     
  22. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,528
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    My regulars are Reflect first followed by Drive Snapshot which I finally got around last night to using again.
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yes you can :)

    How many reliable, tested, error free imaging Systems does one really need... a PRIMARY and a SECONDARY in case the PRIMARY fails out of the blue. Why, exactly, are additional imaging Systems needed to backup that particular scenario? I've never felt like I needed any additional capability other than what's described above.

    Sure, it's fun to play (@Peter2150 plays with them all :D)... but other than that, I really don't see where any more than (2) products need to be shoe horned into an imaging System plan to accomplish an error free backup scenario.

    ...and yes, AOMEI is a fine imager, just missing a few bells and whistles along the periphery of the product.

    What we really need is more of these "adequate" imaging Systems to develop their particular DELTA RESTORATION TECHNOLOGY (somewhat pioneered by AX64 although I believe Macrium was alpha testing their solution toward the end of AX64's heyday). As someone who uses snapshot capability (lots of daily Incremental images) with an imaging System (Rollback RX died a deserved death many years ago), I'm always looking for more products with this capability (Macrium REFLECT via CBT is my primary at the moment).
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    I totally agree with Froggie. What is really more important, is the you know your imaging solutions inside and out, that you can do restores in your sleep so when and if disaster strikes you can use the tools as if it's an every day event. I do restores of my drives with the same concern as I do opening a word document.
     
  25. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,528
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    That's a well known fact for you Pete.

    Test something and if it goes just a little wrong grab an image :D

    I have to admit I am more impressed with Reflect than my all time favorite DS.

    For me I still have yet to experience a single failure that I can think of stretching back to XP. It's always been rock solid and simple as pie.

    But Reflect is won the top spot I suppose because it's fast enough for me on restores. DS was too at the time but not the same any longer.

    As you well know it took a long time just to even consider a different imager.

    Early on and for awhile thereafter the Ax64 was in line to take charge of matters here because who doesn't like hot restores at a reasonable clip too.
     
Loading...