Aomei Backupper 4.4.1 - googleanalytics.exe

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TerryWood, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    Hi @ Wilders

    Just downloaded latest version of Free Aomei Backupper and noticed that the following is part of the installation:-

    C:\program files (x86)\aomei backupper\googleanalytics.exe

    What is googleanalytics.exe?

    Why is it there?

    Is it a nasty?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  2. Soft Life

    Soft Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    United States
    Google analytics sends info to google. I am sure companies get paid to push that along with programs. Even Bitwarden password manager does it although you can turn it off supposedly. Google is the elephant in the room when it comes to spying. And unless you just started using the internet it's too late, they know all about you already.

    Pull the plug out from the wall, take a flamethrower to the internet line coming into the house and then go live in the mountains in a secluded tree house by a creek for water.
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,275
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    LMFTFY

    ....Google is the elephant in the room when it comes to spying. And unless you were born in the woods, your mother died giving birth, you were raised by wolfs in a remote cave & never used the internet it's too late, they know all about you already....
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,607
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Google is likely hidden in-under-around every light source you live near, travel around at, or who knows, maybe has a feeler in the ultraviolets that come from the SUN.

    All that aside. Aomei IMO makes a pretty efficient Partition Manager so maybe their backup tool has a chance to win some new users too.
     
  5. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    Hi @ Wilders

    Grateful someone answers the questions in my original post thank you.

    Terry
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,466
    1: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Analytics

    2: https://www.backup-utility.com/changelog.html

    3: Till version 4.1, googleanalytics.exe wasn't there
    (C:\program files (x86)\aomei backupper\googleanalytics.exe),
    seems that added in latest version.

    fyi :
    Yesterday, Aomei Backupper 4.1 upgraded to 4.5.1, googleanalytics.exe noticed and deleted at once. No problems so far.
     
  7. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,864
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    So did I today.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,983
    Using Noscipt it's easy to block it and other trackers. If it's part of the installation package shame on them.
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,466
    It is.
     
  10. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    Thank you particularly to to Anon also to Peter2150 & Blacknight.

    Terry
     
  11. lolnothankyou

    lolnothankyou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    DisableLocation
    I don't think installing spyware is acceptable. What were they thinking?
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,983
    going to test something on this. Be back
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,983
    Okay, I think it's not being used as Spyware, but somehow related to this new network feature. After installing I deleted the googleanalytiics.exe and there didn't seem to be any ill effect. That is as far as i went. Also I've contected support about it so we can see what they say
     
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,466
    I thought the same and that's why I mentioned the changelog in my previous post #6.

    ------------
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,607
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    You already know what they will say. They're a Vendor of a line of commercial products, in this instance a BackUp Imager.

    I lay odds they will simply reassure of it's harmlessness etc. and that it is included as a prerequisite of a free program from them for home user's.

    It's just that all this tracking business seems to be going way off the charts by including such to more and more products/program's all the time.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,983
    Easter, you written a lot of assumption. Not sure the feature is even part of the free program. And the feature doesn't involve tracking so lots not make assumptions. Also I've found their support is straight up.
     
  17. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    Hi @ Wilders

    I see that the latest version of Aomei Backupper (Free) includes a solicitation to download "Advanced System Care". It's on the Utilities tab.

    Terry
     
  18. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,607
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I hope that's all it is, just assumption. Because I too, although not as familiar with their support, hold no reason to discount it or especially the program's they have nicely developed and others currently in development. Just happen to be a very satisfied recipient of positive results from one of Aomei's line of PC software products.
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,983
    I did get a reply and it didn't make any sense so I fired back for info. I wonder if there support people are up on it. But once installed you can delete the exe file.
     
  20. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    791
    Hi @ Peter2150

    "But once installed you can delete the exe file.

    Problem is that every time there is an Aomei Backupper update googleanalytics.exe will be replaced. Maybe the best way is to block it by a firewall or NVT?

    Terry
     
  21. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,864
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    I deleted the first time googleanalytics.exe and it was not replaced; but I usually block all my programs calling to home, except the AV, so I can't say if is this the reason.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,983

    Well they told me they are reconsidering, but I did install it, deleted the exe file and am running it. So far so good.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. bellgamin
    Replies:
    41
    Views:
    2,989
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.