Anyone using U-Verse?

Discussion in 'hardware' started by ronjor, Oct 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Anyone have first hand experience on the ins and outs of U-Verse?
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hi ronjor :)

    No I don't, I don't even know what it is :D
    But I was curious to find out what it was.....so is this it?: http://www.att.com/shop/u-verse

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2013
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    That's it. :)
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Ahh Good. We have similar services here in Schweden. But not from ATT of course :)
     
  5. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I have a U-verse 12Mbps service with land line VOIP, with 2 separate lines. I've only had it for a couple of moths, but so far I have no complaints.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you install yourself or did it require a technician?
     
  7. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I installed the internet myself, but after I was offered the VOIP for a much lower price than my current land line, they had to send out techs for that. They had to run 1 new phone line from my main phone panel to the phone jack that needed both phone lines as well as the internet feed. They provided all hardware, including the ATT UPS as well. They were on time, wore little booties when working inside and did very clean work. They were in and out with everything tested and functioning in under 90 minutes.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Good info. Thanks.
     
  9. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    You're welcome. The VOIP is clearer than my previous ATT land line feed and I'm very happy with it, as I was more than a little skeptical and thought there might be static and/or lag, but there is none. The new router for just the internet took under 5 minutes to install, with a clearly written setup guide included.

    You will need to know your ATT password for your att.net account for activation, and I called to verify mine prior to receiving my hardware so I was all ready. Lastly, if you're a current ATT customer, ATT will kill your current DSL feed at 8AM and you can't install your new U-verse router until after 8PM that same day. There are huge red warnings all over the quick start guide, so I didn't even try to install mine until 8:30 just to be sure.

    Good luck!
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Been there before. Thanks again. :)
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Depends on what you do with the internet. I had U-Verse. I believe it was the 12Mb package. I was lucky to see a 500Mb download speed and Im about 1 mile from the closest hub. They were routing my internet traffic from Michigan to Florida back to Ohio and then to California which doesnt seem like a big deal, but I played alot of online games and it destroyed my ping. They refused to do anything about it so I switched to Comcast. Got a faster internet connection. I can see 12Mb download speeds with 3-4Mb upload speeds and Im paying $10 more a month. Plus I get to use my own devices (Linksys WRT54GS flashed with DDWRT Mega).
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for your experience with U-Verse.
     
  13. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    hi there swex
    do you got a subscription to either netflix us or hulu+ in sweden? if you do, do you use a vpn service or a smart dns service? i'll be visiting your homeland in a near future, i'm a need to set things up before i get there, so i need to find out which is better performance-wise.
    thanks
     
  14. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,084
    FWIW, I've seen numerous people say that if you use U-Verse you can't change your public IP Address without a hardware swap. Look into that issue if it interests you.
     
  15. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi Ron,
    I know nothing about these things, but just for your info: DSLR has an "AT&T U-verse" forum; maybe you can find some info there from users.
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/uverse
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    I'll check it out. Thanks.
     
  17. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I always hate it when ISPs say things like, "High Speed Internet – downstream speeds up to 24Mbps" (as seen on the U-verse website). I don't want to know what it might go "up to", I want to know the minimum speeds I am guaranteed.
    So is that 12Mbps minimum guaranteed, or your "up to" speeds? And by 2 separate lines, what do you mean? Two "drops" - as in two separate cables entering the house? Or two phone numbers coming in over the same cable?
     
  18. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I see 11.3Mbps consistently on speedtest.net, and my Amazon Instant app always reports the same too, and sometimes a bit higher. I have never seen anything lower.

    I have 2 different phone numbers in my home. The family phone # and my work phone #. The techs had to run a new line through my attic, from the tel box mounted on my house and down to a specific phone jack because of "the way my house was wired". I said cool, whatever and didn't ask for any more info, just so long as I had both phone #'s and internet in my office, that was all I cared about.
     
  19. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Well, I would keep an eye on your speeds. While 11.3 is certainly pretty close to 12, if you are paying for 12, you should be getting at least 12. Check your contract.

    As for your two lines - that makes sense as most "drops" into homes have several "pairs" of wires in the same cable (for multiple lines, and as spares in case one pair goes bad so they don't have to run a whole new drop from the pole or buried junction box - they just swap pairs).

    I am guessing your house is not very new or multiple pairs would already be run to each jack throughout the house.
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hi there Sir.
    Sorry that I haven't answered sooner, no I don't use them myself, but I know people who do use them from Sweden so I can research a bit on this to see what solution that works good if you want? ;)

    Edit: LoL after a second thought. As for Netflix, it is actually available in Sweden as a service so that I could use without a VPN or similar. But I have no info on if the content is the same here as in the U.S. Or if you can use your login credentials to use the Swedish Netflix service, like you can login worldwide. Maybe you know that already if you are a Netflix customer?

    It is a bit offtopic so maybe we should continue via PMs, I don't know.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  21. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    :thumb: pm sent.
     
  22. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    http://advanced-television.com/2014/04/23/u-verse-has-11-3m-subs/
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don´t get it, if it´s fiber based, then why are speeds so low? :confused:
     
  24. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    They suck you through an artificial straw..
     
  25. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,265
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Again, you need to look at your service contract. Just because you have fiber to the house, that does not mean your contract with the ISP is for "light speeds".

    Plus, even if you do have light speeds coming to the house, if your home network is not quick, your modem to router or modem to PC connection speeds may be creating a huge traffic jam/bottleneck.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.