Anyone Using The Avira Scout Browser

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Securon, May 26, 2016.

  1. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Wondering other than the obvious Security Aspects, how does the Browser Perform on your system? Does it use a Specific Search Engine...or is it a Wholly Avira Product? Sincerely...Securon
     
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Tried installing it and received an error message. Now I'm merely wondering, is this Browser Download dependent on having the Infamous Launcher Installed because I'm totally against the installation of this Uber Marketing Rubbish! Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,068
    Location:
    Netherlands
    What I understand from the documentation, it is Chrome with Avira safe browsing, https everywhere and tracking protection. It does not mention Avirs's best buy funtionality but it is most likely included also.
     
  4. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Thanks for the feedback...Windows_Security! Not a Chrome fan...I'll stick with Firefox...hardened with Avira Browser Safety...U-Block 0rigin...and No Script. Was thinking of adding Vivaldi...but at this moment have a feeling it's not quite ready for Prime Time. But that being said, a year or two down the road it might and probably will be a different story. Sincerely...Securon
     
  5. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,439
    Another rebranded Chromium browser with customized Avira settings.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2016
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Avoid these Chrome "forks".
     
  7. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    57
    If you manage to remove Avira rubbish, then you get obsolete Chromium. That is all. Completely unusable, want to say - manure.
     
  8. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,150
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    Just Chrome with avira's extension and some others. It was supposed to integrate the Avira database/cloud engine someday. let see.
     
Loading...