Anyone using ArcaVir anymore?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sg09, Oct 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  2. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    Please do you a favor and drop arcavir for anything that came to your mind..

    Arcavir is one of two polish av, but actually they're very very poor in terms of detection and lightness..

    Light years back after main players....
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    lol...:D
     
  4. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Is this av still around?
    Haven't heard of it for years!
     
  5. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yes it is still updated regularly...:)
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The developers are currently only focused on the polish market but do offer full support to anyone else who happens to buy or use the product. The technology behind the AV is/was very good, ArcaBit being one of the first to have "deep unpack", registry scanner, etc.

    Detection rates are not great simply because their focus is limited and the team tends to focus on threats affecting Poland only. It does, however, look very cool. Had it not been for somewhat poor detection rates, one would be proud to have such a cool looking AV on their system :D
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Its indeed very cool looking and that's the first thing I attracted to...:)
     
  8. Plati

    Plati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Poland
    ArcaVir is very poor antivirus, but polish! (lol) Don't install this! Never.
     
  9. ArcaVir Asia

    ArcaVir Asia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Hi, there are still users using ArcaVir. We are now present in Asia.

    Please check out the link below :

    www.arcavir.asia
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    I forgot they even existed. I try to keep up with latest developments in security, and I have not heard anything about them in a few years. There is not even any rating on them with WOT. This could be due to them relocating, but I have not a clue. Maybe someone should do some testing on them in a VM.
     
  11. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    As I said in this topic keep away from it!!! Detection rate is a pure joke.
     
  12. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Is this conclusion from personal experience?
     
  13. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It's still not the worst AV you can get (IMO). More like middle of the pack, but even a "Standard" rated AV (by AV-comparatives) is better than it these days.

    That makes me wonder how mks_vir is doing these days......
     
  16. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Scanned yesterday two wellknown exe files (safe ones I know) with JottiQ, both flagged by arcavir as bad, all the others told me they are clean. Says enough to me.

    Gerard
     
  17. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I scan my PC often with the portable scanner. Never found it doing too many FP. Its not that bad IMO.
     
  18. ArcaVir Asia

    ArcaVir Asia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur

    Attached Files:

  19. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    Firecat I admire your good memory, becouse many people in Poland forgot about this vendor. Basically mks is in state of bankruptcy :D

    gerardwil: after scanning 2 files you judge if this program is good or not?
    We scan tons of malware each day (please PM and I send you links), and trust me this is piece of .... not even an averange antivirus.

    New version of Arcavir has only cosmetic improvements (memory footprint/parental controls..), unfortunattely engine is still the same.
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,950
    Location:
    USA
    Where can I change the language to English lol I don't speak Polish or whatever language that is. If you don't have it in English then Spanish or Italian would be fine as well :) Sorry, but i want be able to read the post in your forum unless Google translation works.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  21. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I scanned two files which are absolutely nothing wrong with, these files excists for years and years, so I was not scanning malware files.
    No need for a PM, I know where to find those and use them every now and then (testing that is).

    Gerard
     
  22. yaslaw

    yaslaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Poland
    Basically I want to say that your exemple with 2 files - proves nothing.

    edit sorry it's my mistake :) apologize. Recently I was in kind of rush so I just misunderstood your post. I red it to fast and though that this two files were malicious detected by arcarvir only. Apologize again ;-)

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  23. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No problem ;)

    Gerard
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.