Anyone use Hitman Pro 2?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Lollan, Feb 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    Link is foreign: http://www.hitmanpro.nl/

    You should be able to tell from the screenshots at the bottom, but basically, it downloads, installs and runs a bunch of programs for spyware/AV cleanup automatically and I've been trying it out some today. I noticed that under the antivirus section, Nod32 is in the list, but it is greyed out and I have had this with 2 computers, one that has Nod32 installed, the other does not.

    Any ideas? Pretty nifty program if I might say.

    In my line of work, this kinda thing saves a toooooon of time. :)
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you choose the Dutch language during Hitman Pro installation, NOD32 will become available.
     
  3. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Be carefull with this program, it's heuristics module removes sometimes a bit to much :)
     
  4. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    Any reasoning for that other than their extended trial version?

    *edit* I just tried installing the Dutch version, still grayed out.

    ie: Winsock or just false positives?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2006
  5. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    No, I'm sorry, not NOD32 :) , I mean Hitman Pro!

    It has an Heuristics module: Hitman Pro AntiSpyware. I have seen it remove valid software components etc.

    IMO it is not the simple shell it once was, and certainly NOT for "noobs".
     
  6. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    I had that disabled anyways :) Just running ones i've used in the past :)
     
  7. Capricornus

    Capricornus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    near Antwerp
    Yes, I have used the program since the beginning, have tried all permutations, included the choice nót-to-use-it, and have done so on at least 10 different pc's. I'dd say I know a little bit what I'm talking about.

    The option nót-to-use-it, but instead, using the different freeware programs seperately is time-consuming, at least, something most of the users I know will not perform.

    As a user of NOD32, the option is grayed out, of course. But I've installed pc's (always: English) with AVG, and there was no problem checking off NOD32.

    The heuristic analysis never went wrong, but is time-consuming and I'm not a believer.

    Because many pc's are installed with administrator rights, I think and am convinced that the option SURFRIGHT is a brilliant one. It prevents all kinds of things the usual internet-visitor is not aware off, link unwanted injections. It hinders the installation of some software, that should be made clear, I think.

    On the Dutch site www.security.nl there is a flame going on between believers and non-believers. I think every security measure counts, especially for dummies (and that means the majority of us). I heve not experienced slow downs because of the software, most major slowdowns are due to either infections, or Windows-settings (easily solved with Advanced Windows Care).

    Marc Looman, keep on working for us! and many thanks so far!
     
  8. Inspector Clouseau

    Inspector Clouseau AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
  9. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    Many are opposed to Hitman. Aren't ESET opposed to someone repackaging their software :ninja: ?
     
  10. Wolfe

    Wolfe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    160
    Ask Peter Kovac - Chief Legal Office from Eset. I'm pretty sure on behalf of Eset he's totally against HitmanPro using NOD32.

    On a side note: ask Javacool one and the same as for SpywareBlaster. Same answer is bound to come up.

    HitmanPro is in effect parasiting, apart from bad coding.
     
  11. mrtwolman

    mrtwolman Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Posts:
    613
    I have been kindly asked by Paul Wilders to give some statement. To remove "the fog of war", some things should be said. I will not comment anything but the use of NOD32 in Hitman.

    After some very long and painfull discussion we've decided to permit use of of NOD32 trial in Hitman. The use is bound to quit long list of our strict requests. Use is limited to Netherland only and can be revoked if necessary.
     
  12. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    Thanks for clearing that up :eek:
     
  13. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    Thanks for bringing this one back. :p
     
  14. haakman

    haakman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I Use Hitman Pro, but it always removes programs not known for spyware etc. Now it removed the excellent program iPodRip. Also, after running Hitman Pro I get a warning that I have no Firewall and AntiVirus installed, although I have my own Firewall and AntiVirus.
     
  15. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    Is it the security center saying you don't have an AV/FW? If so, try updating your definitions. I can't think of how Hitman Pro would cause that though.. odd. I've gotten out of the habit of using the program and since I can't use Nod32, there's no point in it. :)
     
  16. Benvan45

    Benvan45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    556
    Latest news I got just yesterday........Don't use Hitman Pro at all, as it removes things it shouldn't remove at all!
     
  17. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    Hengelo
    I am the creator of Hitman Pro 2 and I would like to say a few things, which I hope clears things and makes an end to all the false information floating around from people who like to make up stories / gossip.

    Hitman Pro has full permission from ESET to deploy and use their NOD32 Antivirus. I work closely with NOD32 Netherlands and ESET to support English systems (at the moment, I only have permission for Dutch NOD32). I also work with Webroot and have permission from other companies like PC Tools and Adobe Systems, etc. to deploy their software. And I do not steal donations nor have I removed any links to them.

    Furthermore, since people only seem to gather and remember bad things about good things, my own Hitman Pro AntiSpyware module indeed caused some false positives last year (name 1 antispyware tool that didn't had false positives in its history). The problems were also fixed last year and the entire module is removed from Hitman Pro 2.5 two week ago, because, just like the aging space shuttle, it required a lot of work to keep it working with the new ideas I have (and make it compatible with the new functions). Instead I will add something new I have been working on, called Fuzzy Logic - which is really usefull for experts and online antimalware communities (it kinda works like HijackThis but is more indepth, gives grades and is capable of detecting rootkits and other nasty stuff). People interested can contact me for a demonstration of my proof of concept.

    And even though Hitman Pro was designed for non-tech users, Hitman Pro 2.5 now gives full control of targeted objects to those who want it.

    I hope people stop acting as if Hitman is bad. I have 40.000 new users every week so something must be good. I don't run away from complaints (they help to improve things) but don't talk rubbish about things you haven't asked me or properly looked into. I work every day on Hitman and it will always remain free for personal use. I you have questions about Hitman, please send them to mark[at]hitmanpro.net.
     
  18. Lollan

    Lollan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    288
    I'm very excited to hear from you, sir. I definitely look forward to seeing an English version of Nod32 fully implemented. I am very interested in your new software as well, sending an email now.
     
  19. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi markloman,

    Nice to hear from you and welcome to Wilders.
    Between your post and the post by mrtwolman above I'm sure all will better understand the truth of the matter.
    Thanks for taking the time to clear things up.

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.