anyone try restore drive snapshot image to new hd?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by demoneye, Nov 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    HI

    just want to know this thing ... lets say i have 500 giga hd divided like this c:\ = 60 giga d:\ = 430 giga

    the above disk is dead so i bought new 500 giga hd , divide it to c:\= 100 giga and d:\ = 400 giga ...

    will the the image made in 60 giga (which old the OS ) partition will success bee restore to a 100 giga hd ?
     
  2. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi DemonEye,

    Don't partition your HD. Restore and you will have 60GB OS drive. The rest will be unallocated 430GB. Then after increase the 60GB to 100GB. You will then have unallocated 400GB. Then allocate the 400GB as you desire, one partition or more than one partition.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  3. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    The best program for such things is HDClone, the FREE version.

    Just clone your OS 60GB drive to the new drive. The new drive can be any size but it has to be bigger than 60GB.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    10x aladdin for your reply , but if i want my c: OS will be 100 giga this time instead of the 60 giga that the drive where made by drive snapshot? will it work restoring to bigger drive than he made from the first time :blink:

    and my hd is dead .... :(
     
  5. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    HI DemonEye,

    You can always restore to a bigger drive and then adjust the allocation. But you cannot restore to a smaller drive. 60GB cannot fit on a 40GB drive. However, 60GB can easily fit on a 500GB drive, and then one can adjust the allocation.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  6. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell

    hamm .. what u are saying is i can restore a 60 giga partition to 100 giga one by copy it / clone it and after that resize it to 100 giga with additional software?
     
  7. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Yes, free partition software from either EaseUS Partition Manager or IOMEI Partition Manager.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  8. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.