Anyone running openSUSE?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by funkydude, Apr 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Just wondering if anyone runs it, don't see it mentioned here a lot. At over 4GB the ISO is taking a while to download (about the size of windows) :)
     
  2. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I run it off and on and like it a lot. I've tried both the KDE and Gnome 3 versions, both are very well done. There are the live cd's and also a net install cd if you don't want to download 4 gigs for the full dvd.

    It's a nice distro IMO, and one of my favorites where everything pretty much works...

    Codecs for video and mp3 playing etc are easily dealt with by the one click install:

    http://opensuse-community.org/Restricted_formats/12.1

    MS fonts are in the repos.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    I was actually glad it was so big, it gave me more confidence it might actually be worthwhile (I hate the whole "must fit on a CD" obsession). Was playing around with it but had a few issues in VirtualBox I haven't had before, I'm going to try the live env sometime as it looks and feels quite promising.
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    ot posts removed
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Can I ask if anyone has had success running GNOME3 in VirtualBox without it falling into "fallback mode"? Does it require 3D/2D acceleration enabled? (as I can't use it)
     
  7. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    yes i use Opensuse a lot i like it very much

    Great chameleon
     
  8. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    sorry last time i tried gnome 3 it didnt work i dont like gnome 3 never tried it expect linux mint 12 in there as well i use cinnamon and it work perfect.

    http://cinnamon.linuxmint.com/

    is there any particular reason you looking for open suse and with gnome 3 o_O?
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    I originally installed it with KDE (which worked fine, didn't fall back to anything) and that's the version I said I liked, but I wanted to try the GNOME3 version to see which I preferred, that's really the only reason :p
    GNOME3 "fallback mode" definitely doesn't excite me though!
     
  10. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Poland
    Which desktop environment is the best for an old laptop (1.8GHz Intel M, 1 GB RAM)? I heard that openSUSE is a fully bloated distro!
     
  11. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    you can run open suse or linux mint 12 they work but little slow also while installing create 2gb swap or test on live cd

    best is xubuntu fast stable pretty much same or close to old ubuntu 10.04 :thumb:

    or second choice is

    you can try pclinux os xfce i personal like them both for fast and old pc

    there are lxde but since you 1gb ram i so xfce gonna rock :D
     
  12. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    open suse make best kde for gnome 3

    try linux mint 13 why because gnome 3 (no comment :D ) but linux mint with default and with help of cinnamon make it usable also cinnamon there in suse/fedora but its not as stable as its on mint
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Bloated can be a good thing sometimes :D I wouldn't let the size fool you, it runs fine in my 1Gb VM which reports ~400MB free sitting on the desktop.

    I run Mint Debian with Xfce on my portable drive for work, I'll try the whole cinnamon thing when the new Mint comes out. I've decided to give up trying to get the GNOME3 openSUSE to work, I'll be installing the KDE version on a partition next to Windows 8 on my laptop to try it further as I don't use it for much.
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Sorry I can't help about the VM stuff. I ran Gnome 3 via a regular full install on the HD and it was fine. It reminds me somewhat of Unity on Ubuntu. I think I prefer it over KDE at this point. It's pretty simple and clean and nice... Can't you just boot off the live CD and have a look around? Or am I missing the point?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.