Anyone install & run v3 successfully on win7 ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by trial and error, Aug 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    Ive been dissapointed with my security setup lately and tried a couple new programs. KIS 2010 and Prevx v3.0. I put the KIS in last week and Prevx this am. It ran the initial scan, I made some configuration changes then scanned again. All seemed ok. I set the taskbar to show Prevx all the time.
    When I came back to the pc a little while ago the icon was gone and I had trouble restarting the program. Tried the app compatibility trick and set it to Vista without luck.
    I like the idea behind this program, it's been around a long time too. help?
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have it running without problems with both the Beta and the RC 32bit over the past months ;)

    TH
     
  3. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    Thanks, I see that I failed to note I'm running the x64 RC. I did read somewhere that there were some sort of an issue with Kaspersky with the previous version of Prevx. Eset plays nice with it?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I did try WIN7 Beta x64 for a week and had no problem with Prevx and NOD32 running together :thumb: But yes there was a problem with KAV and Prevx but I think that issue was solved? Joe can confirm that went he See's this thread.

    TH
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Kaspersky was detecting our program file as a compatibility issue unnecessarily - they've since removed it so hopefully that isn't the issue here.

    Could you let me know what build of Win7 you're using? I'm using the RTM here and RC1 on another system and haven't had any issues installing Prevx 3 except for the Windows Security Center which apparently changed its interfaces (we're working on getting the applicable information from Microsoft on how to integrate with it).
     
  6. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    Mornin'
    That what I had heard of, the emphasis being it was an issue with the prior version of Kaspersky (not Prevx).
    W7 RC 7100 x64, kis9.0.0.463, Prevx3.0.1.65 and I sent them a couple of WerFault reports yesterday.
    I had been using ESS until this week, I don't see any evidence of it left in the registry, but maybe there's a key somewhere...
    Thank You for your interest in this.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Can you try completely removing Kaspersky and Prevx? I suspect Kaspersky is going to instruct you to do the same once they respond to your bug reports but, odd as it may seem, that does tend to fix compatibility issues.

    After uninstalling, try using our removal tool to double check that everything is gone (you can download it from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=csiuninstalltool)

    Then, reboot your computer and download Prevx 3.0 again. You will probably have to install Kaspersky first and then install Prevx just to prevent them from warning in case that is still around in v9 but if that doesn't work, please let us know. We will be moving our test platforms from Win7 RC1 to Win7 RTM shortly to prepare for final testing so it would be good to get as much input as possible if there is a persistent issue :)
     
  8. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    OK, I've got your tool. I'll try removing KIS and Prevx and get back with you later today.
     
  9. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    I guess removing KIS2010 from this os is pretty much impossible for me on this box. I ran the uninstall, restarted, deleted all temp files, ran regedit found 1 key at current user for kaspersky deleted it. When i re-installed it knew the correct number of days left in the trial.
    Could have been in the msft logs?? Or Kaspersky logged my IPaddress??

    I ran the Prevx removal tool, when the command prompt window flashed it looked empty (it did go by Phenom fast at 3.8Ghz).
    Prevx had a compatability issue with win7 again, msft took a couple more WerFault reports from me, and I'm just about to write zeros again. It didn't want to run with either Vista SP1 or SP2 settings.
    I just built this new rig in July and this would make the second time of re-installing the RC for me counting that new MB & CPU build.
    Wish I could get build 7600!
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You can if you want to join technet http://technet.microsoft.com/en-ca/subscriptions/bb892759.aspx for $349.00US http://technet.microsoft.com/en-ca/subscriptions/renew.aspx

    Video http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=6597648

    TH
     
  11. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    :argh: Yeah I've got what the freebie Tech-net subscription gets you. I think the awful Vista betas were the last thing I got there.
    I'm thinking of actually buying the new os when it comes out. I haven't put XPx64 back on the pc since I went to Win7 in January.

    Considering the economy I'm gonna gamble that the full version will be less that $350 when it comes out. It's a guess because XP Pro was over $300 when it came out wasn't it?
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Also you can get the Office 2010 with the sub also!

    TH
     
  13. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    You won't believe this.
    I just opened a box from Newegg an hour ago with my Office2007 upgrade. I've been running the trial of that since springtime. I could see that price for the RTM version, the new Office + more in the next years' time.
     
  14. trial and error

    trial and error Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    the former USA
    Issues resolved, since I uninstalled ESS then installed KIS and Prevx I must have created issues with the Win7 RC. Made a pot of coffee, ZEROED the hdds, cleared CMOS on the new F3 ROG mb, spent the last 6 hrs reinstalling.
    Prevx 3.0.1.65 works likes it should now I think. I'm definately a rookie with this program and KIS also.
    Triple H and Prevx H I appreciate your time and H elp :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.