anyone here installed solaris 10?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by lodore, Sep 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    im trying to install solaris 10 but so far unsuccessfully.
    in a virtual machine it gets to the extracting windowing system and then seems to get stuck even if i leave it for ages.
    on my old pc pentium 3 256mb of ram it gets to:
    sun release 5.10 generic _127128-11 32bit
    then copy right information for two lines then a blinking cursor
    any ideas?

    i have installed quite a few unix/linux distros but this one doesnt seem to want to install...

    opensolaris installs fine but i wanna install solaris 10.
     
  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i looked it up and with that kernel patch you need to do the install in single user mode otherwise it might not install at all! it looks like a lot of people have had trouble getting that kernel to install and boot.

    here are some links i found -
    http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/solarisx86/message/46315
    http://sunsolve.sun.com/search/document.do?assetkey=1-21-127128-11-1
    http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?messageID=10340834
    http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?messageID=10316085

    this is the name of the kernel patch i looked up -
    127128-11

    the 'sun release 5.10 generic _127128-11 32bit' sounds like the kernel, so it looks like it's failing when it tries to load the kernel.
     
  3. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i think i found a solution by editting the boot options

    when you get to the boot loader (grub) hit the letter e to edit the boot options. you might need to press Esc first. then when you are in the edit mode for grub use the arrow keys to go to the kernel line, it might be called something like - 5.10 generic _127128-11 and have kernel written at the beginning of the line, i'm not sure i haven't used that OS, and add -kd to the end of that line (you might need to press e again first??) then press esc, or ctrl-c, or enter (i'm not sure which!) to leave editting grub and press b to start the boot process again. then -

    -when kmdb loads, type
    [0]> cmi_no_init/W1
    [0]> :c

    i got the answer from here, post 9 in this thread -
    http://forums.sun.com/thread.jspa?messageID=10238973#10238973

    i just found this thread too with the same sounding solution -
    http://groups.google.com/group/comp.unix.solaris/browse_thread/thread/95218cba2b5942c2?fwc=1
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2008
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hey,
    thanks.
    i will try those instructions tomorrow and tell you how i get on.
     
  5. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    ok. i think it will work. i was looking at some of the bugs and i saw this -
    http://bugs.opensolaris.org/view_bug.do?bug_id=6617465

    it says -
    The easiest way to boot an affected system was:

    - boot under kmdb (add -kd to the unix line in the grub menu)

    i don't know what the 'unix line' is o_O but if it doesn't work and you see a line beginning with 'unix' in the grub menu try adding the -kd option at the end of that line.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    managed to add the -kd to the unix line then pressed b to boot.
    it booted under kmdb
    i typed
    cmi_no_init/W1
    then typed
    :c
    i get an errror. see below
    warning failed to decompress CTF data for hook: failed to decompress CTF data
    then it goes to a cursor and wont continue.

    i want to get as far as possible but dont think i will be able to install on my old pc. needs 512mb minimum lol.

    when i tryed to install it in virtualbox before it seemed to get stuck on extracting windowing system. so done a console text install insteead and its working fine so far.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2008
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    so you got it running after installing from the console?
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    on the virtual machine ye.
    couldnt get the install to install on my old dell.
    it does seem very slow...
    btw opensolaris is sunOS release 5.11 so its slightly ahead.
    gonna try to install opensolaris on my old dell and see if that works.
    wonder if its normally as slow as it is in the virtual machine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.