Anyone has any test configurations when WSA is used alongside with other AV?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by GrammatonCleric, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    For example using the Prevex/Webroot combo WSA along with OA++ or Eset?

    Looking at resource impact if both are employed as opposed to either or.
     
  2. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Although WSA can be run alongside other AVs, it can also be effectively deployed as a standalone solution. Potential performance issues apart, it might be more effective to supplement WSA with a different type of protection - virtualization and/or policy restriction for example - rather than adding another real-time AV.

    The overhead from running multiple AVs in real-time increases proportionately with each AV added, but the increase in protection is subject to diminishing marginal returns, so maybe not a good trade-off from a cost/benefit perspective. There's also the risk of conflict from running two programs of the same type to consider.

    When running another real-time AV alongside WSA, one thing to watch out for is double scanning when the other AV tries to scan a file that is being scanned by WSA. If the other AV supports process exclusion - in addition to file and folder exclusion - adding wrsa.exe to the process exclusion list will avoid this. If the other AV doesn't support process exclusion, it may be possible to set it to ignore files when they are opened for reading; ESET NOD32, for example, has this option.
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :thumb: I agree. We do work to be compatible with every other AV but there are some performance considerations when scanning multiple times. The main hit comes from a few AVs which load files into memory as if they're being executed (MalwareBytes being the most prominent example). If you experience slow scans, you may want to add WSA to the exclusion list of the other AV.
     
  4. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    What about Microsoft's MSE for instance?
    Good match?
    I don't think we can exclude processes in MSE though.
     
  5. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, you can. :)
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You should be able to but you probably won't have to. It would be worth trying them together and see your results :)
     
  7. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Doing that since a couple of days, and it works.
    However, MSE is so slow I don't think I'm going to keep it.
    BTW, is Prevx as good standalone than WSA?
    I'm waiting to be migrated to WSA from Prevx.
     
  8. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Prevx 3 and WSA are both complete anti-malware products that can be effectively deployed as standalone solutions. There is little to be gained by running either of them alongside another AV. If you want another security layer for additional protection, I suggest considering a different type of product, not a second AV.
     
  9. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Thanks.
    As my signature says, I also use Zemena. (and run MBAM on-demand every night)
     
  10. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, you've got a good setup there. :)

    Regards
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    @pegr,

    check your pms.
     
  12. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello all :)

    I have noticed that NIS 2012 (19.2, latest) has become more and more incompatible with WRSA Beta since version 80066. Now with version 8018, for about 2 minutes, i get a blank screen with my mouse only appearing before the desktop is displayed.... After this stage, everything gets back to normal.
    My config: Vista Ultimate 32 bits, 3 gigas Ram.
    Any solution for this conflict at startup?
    Thanks for your help!

    Cheers,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Good pair with ZoneAlarm Antivirus or Suite.
    To avoid with ZoneAlarm Extreme, it conflicts with ZA virtualization.
     
  14. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Blackcat,

    Thanks for the info.

    Regards
     
  15. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Sounds like something delaying the shell loading. Does it speed up substantially if WSA is temporarily uninstalled? If so, does it stay okay after a reinstall? If not on the first, it's Norton's fault. If not on the second, run a scan and save the logs. See if Norton stuff is showing up a . If so, use the Submit Feedback button to contact support so it can be set.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.