Anyone ever use DeepFreeze and anti-excutable?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Boost, May 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Thinking about running just Deep Freeze and Faronics anti-excutable,anyone run just these 2 apps? :cautious:
     
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I have used DeepFreeze, well i mean used a PC with DeepFreeze and i don't like it :p

    All my school PC's got DeepFreeze and thanks to that crap i can no longer safe my works there SCREW IT!!! :D
    Actually the program is very strong :thumb: :thumb:
     
  3. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I have since 2005.

    ----
    rich
     
  4. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Had a bad experience with Deep Freeze actually not with DF but when used along with DefenseWall I tried to install it as untrusted and it was corrupted hence I couldn't reinstall it again coz the setup always said it was already installed:blink: and infact my computer was in frozen state all the time and after reboot everything is gone:'(

    I couldn't even delete the dpfrz.sys file as it was already in use hence only one option was possible reinstallation of OS:mad:
     
  5. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    I seen a few internet cafes and Libraries use DeepFreeze and anti-excutable
    a good rock solid protection from malware I admit. but there is nothing in this setup to control the behavior of white listed programs that are allowed to run.

    EDIT for example how would I prevent my game connection client from terminating my game?
     
  6. Vikorr

    Vikorr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    662
    DF and A-E are fine if you don't intend to ever install any other programs

    If you use DF, it's best to have 2 harddrives (or one that is partitioned), so that you can save all your work etc to an unfrozen harddrive (so if you do this, you have to change the location where your mailbox is stored, and your word docs etc)
     
  7. timestand

    timestand Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Posts:
    172
    I try anti-executable before. Problem with control script execution.
     
  8. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    I don't think AE can block malicious scripts from running, maybe Rmus can confirm? this is another security hole in this setup, until another deep freeze reboot is performed.
     
  9. timestand

    timestand Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Posts:
    172
    Sorry I test AE version 3 now. It can add windows script execute program to blacklist. So yes it can block scripts.
     
  10. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I have no problems with deepfreeze
     
  11. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    Really bad that v2 series do not work on win7...v3 is utter rubbish,ur better off with any cheap/free HIPS and a couple custom rules..
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I did for a while. I think it is an excellent combination with very low system impact. People often say that it is not practical when installing programs, but with AE V3 things are done quickly as it allows like any HIPS, with a simple window, to deny - allow - add to the white list. There is a black list as well if one wants to make things even tighter(I don't use it, though).

    AE had a buggy phase changing from V2 to V3, it has now a very stable release which even won an award ("2010 Global Product Excellence Award").

    I'm using Shadow Defender instead of DeepFreeze, only for the 'commit' feature and the possibility to enter a shadow session without a reboot.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.