Anyone else having Problems with ThreatSense?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Triple Helix, Oct 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I see that it's not sending any info to Eset in my Logs, and I have it turned on and set up properly and allowed access through my firewall!!

    Cheers, o_O
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I did a reinstall of NOD and still nothing!! Clicked on the submit button and still Nothing in the Logs!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    If you restart your pc it should send a statistical package to Eset.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi Brian! I tried that also and still nothing in the Logs!! And checked all of the settings and they are fine!!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 15, 2005
  5. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hmm... I'm not getting any entries in the event log either currently..
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    When was the last entry? Mine was about 5 days ago before I did the reinstall of NOD today! :doubt:
     
  7. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I've set NOD not to log it, but after restart it should add an entry to the event log (I've also enable it prior to reboot).

    Very strange indeed.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Submitting statistical information is temporarily disabled due to system maintanence.
     
  9. Egg beta

    Egg beta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    I posted here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=100453
    about problems I've been having with the sending of statistical info.

    It eventually stopped sending stat info altogether a couple of days later - the last logged entry being on the 7th, although ironically it sent one this morning. (Previously I've been getting 5 or 6 entries listed in the event log when stat info has been sent, just occasionally 1 or 2.)

    I've been in contact with Eset UK during this past week, and after changing the settings to 'soon as possible' instead of 'during update' and then trying a reinstall (all to no avail) a query has been passed on to global support to see if they can come up with something.

    I'll post back and let you know how it goes.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You can find the official response one post above.
     
  11. Egg beta

    Egg beta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry Marcos, but I was thinking that my issue pre-dated the system maintenance, since judging by the other thread it wasn't an issue for other users at the time. Or have I confused the issue by linking into this one?

    :doubt:
     
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    Thanks for the info Marcos!!
     
  13. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    What exactly does NOD consider "temporary"? System maintenance shouldn't last more than a couple of hours...
     
  14. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    Bump................
     
  15. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The system maintenance will last for the time necessary to complete it. The maintanance does not render your computer more or less vulnerable so I really don't understand your question.
     
  16. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    What's not to understand? System maintenance should not last more than a couple of hours......not days!

    Eset has taken out a full page ad in the current PC World touting it's Threat Sense System, real time abilities, evolving threat recognition, etc.....and yet that very system has been down for "several" days.
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ThreatSense has always worked perfectly and the fact that submitting statistical information has temporarily been disabled HAS NO IMPACT on detection abilities and your system remains fully protected as if statistical information was submitted. Since everything has been said, the thread will be now closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.