Anybody noticed an error message on shutdown since installing NOD32 4?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Victor Hugo, Mar 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    i'm getting this logged in the event log:

    Application popup: dwwin.exe - DLL Initialization Failed : The application failed to initialize because the window station is shutting down.

    i've attached the generated file i've recovered from my temp folder which coincides with the shutdown - as you can see the error is coming from egui.exe.

    is there any way to solve, or should i go back to v3?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm seeing the same error on XP Home, SP3. This does not occur using V3.
     
  3. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    glad to see it's not just me, i am too running xp sp3 (media centre edition)
     
  4. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    i've fired off an email to support, so i'll let you know how i get on.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks. :thumb:
     
  6. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Same error here, but not all the time, it's random.
    Please post if any fix is comming.
    Thanks,
     
  7. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    i've noticed it comes up not *every* single time - it seems to happen when you've had egui open to view stats or change settings, then it seems to do it. i'll add that to the report.
     
  8. arqarq

    arqarq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Got the same problem here on XP x64. It is rather random. Have no idea what's causing this and how to solve it.
     
  9. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    i haven't heard back from tech support yet - they contacted me the day after i did the report to send them a sysinspector report but i've heard nothing since.
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks Victor Hugo. We will see what they come up with.
     
  11. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Yup.same problem here XP SP3 WMCE!
     
  12. Joan Archer

    Joan Archer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire, South Wales, UK
    I haven't noticed any problems since upgrading to version 4, this is on a Vista Home Premium 32bit system.
     
  13. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Same here...it started 15 days ago
     
  14. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Another "same here". The popup went by so quickly I wasn't able to read it at first but it started occurring, on a random basis, after I installed v4.
     
  15. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Another "same here". I noticed it yesterday night when shutting down my PC... But already happened once, according to events records

    Regards
     
  16. Nyte

    Nyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Same here ... happens randomly.
     
  17. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Solved my issue. It was ZoneAlarm firewall. Just increased the trust level on Eset service. Problem went away. Will keep you posted.
     
  18. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Confirmed here; numerous reboots yet the error message **only appears** when I've had egui open.
     
  19. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    I never get the error message but I get something really weird when I look at the "watch activity", it keeps playing the XP ding wav file over and over again. Only noticed this in XP using EAV, not seen it in Vista with ESS.
     
  20. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Are you sure you're not getting the error message? Most of the time, after I've had egui open and restart, the thing **really** flies by and requires no user input.

    Just for laughs, check Event Viewer >> System and see if you have an "Application Popup" entry (under Source) that indicates "dwwin.exe - DLL Initialization Failed".
     
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Nope, event viewer reveals no errors, just still the same XP sound over and over, really odd...
     
  22. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Sheesh! That sound is definitely odd. "Watch activity" is completely silent on both machines on which I have EAV v4 installed (both XP SP3). Have you taken a look at the stuff listed in the Sounds tab in Sounds and Audio Devices in CP? Just a thought.

    BTW, there is no error message in event viewer, at least it's not listed as an "error". Rather, the "Type" of event is simply "Information"....."Application Popup" is listed as "Source" (not saying you haven't already looked for that, though).
     
  23. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No problems with version 4 yet.
     
  24. Novicex

    Novicex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    I had the same problem with XP sp3 Pro, Ess 4, solved by killing DWWIN in anywhere:D
     
  25. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    I found an old trick that killed the error message:

    1) Control Panel >> System >> Advanced tab,
    2) Click "Error Reporting"
    3) Check "Disable error reporting" and *uncheck* "But notify me when critical errors occur"

    Fooled around with egui quite a bit yet no error message on shutdown thereafter. YMMV, of course.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.