Anybody having problems with 2.70.37?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ablatt, May 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ablatt

    ablatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Canada
    I've had some minor issues on my PC since installing the 2.70.37 update, such as mail not sending and some scripting errors.

    Could be strictly coincidental.

    Anybody else having any issues?
     
  2. Alwill

    Alwill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Since I installed the update, the program has functioned normally without any problems.
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I had one some hours ago . While surfing the internet IMON and later AMON pop-up for a threat - IRC/Cloner... (NOD32 saved my day :D ) and I wanted to put a copy in the Quarantine . I noticed that that nothing went to Quarantine even though I check it . It appeared that a folder "Infected" in ESET's folder was not created . I manually created it , visited the bad site again , and then a copy was made in the Quarantine .

    Some minutes ago I reinstalled NOD32 and the problem's gone . After test with Eicar a folder "Infected" was auto created as it should be

    This happens for the first time for me . Was and still using 2.70.37

    So if the above is an issue ... Everything else is running smoothly as always
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2007
  4. GWA

    GWA Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Yes, the lack of the "infected" folder being created has been true with NOD32 for a long time. Can not understand why something that obvious is consistently overlooked. Like you, I manually created it also, although I have not had need for it yet! CHUCK SENDS...
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I don't think "for a long time" . I have been using NOD32 for a whole year and some months and today for the first time I had problems . After reinstalling NOD everything works fine
     
  6. Alwill

    Alwill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi HighTech_boy,

    When I purchased NOD some eighteen months ago I ran into the same problem of the missing "infected" folder and found that it is not created in the NOD Directory until the first infection is quarantined by which time, in my case, the associated registry entry had been deleted by a registry cleaner (slipped under my guard).

    The issue was the subject of discussion in this earlier thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=119178&highlight=Amuset with post #14 being particularly relevant.

    I think I remember seeing somewhere that a fix is to be included in V3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.