Anybody have any issues with Ad-aware SE?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Matt_Smi, Aug 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    I have not downloaded Ad-aware SE yet, I am always a bit hesitant to get new programs, I am going to get it soon, but was wondering if anyone was having any problems with it? I heard that it detected a vital part of Firefox as spyware but that has been fixed in the newest release (1.02), I have also heard of it detecting some other false positives. I plan to scan with 6 one final time then uninstall 6, install and scan with SE to see if it picks up anything new that 6 was not finding, anyone finding that SE picks up a lot of new things?
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I installed SE yesterday, and I use Firefox on Win2k pro. I've had no problems whatsoever with the new Ad-Aware. No false positives, nothing new detected either. It seems to me like it might be scanning faster - but I don't time these things so I might be imagining that.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    66,865
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Rock Slide

    Rock Slide Guest

    I also have Ad-aware SE v 1.01 and Firefox 0.9.3 and no false positives here.

    Detox, i would agree with you Ad-aware seems to scan MUCH faster, and i do sorta time these things.
     
  5. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    hi
    i believe the new version is alot improved--seems that way to me.i havent had but one small prob.--sometimes it takes a long time to delete but it does detect numerous new things
    have a good day
    Rita :)
     
  6. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Excellent, no probs so far so good. Ad-aware's scanning speed is a bit faster in this SE version. Thumbs up for lavasoft! A job well done!
     
  7. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    I've had no problems with Build 1.02. I know of one problem with Build 1.01, however, where a scan trashed a user's copy of Mozilla (here).
     
  8. Etsnuffy

    Etsnuffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    No problems or false positives here as well. Using FF 0.9.3 and XP Home.
     
  9. quack(s)

    quack(s) Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl
    same here
    :D
     
  10. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Version 1.01 produced some false positives in my host files, but 1.02 corrected this. :)
    No more problems here. :D
     
  11. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    I've never encountered any problem with Ad-aware since Build 6.0. 181.

    I have also had Ad-aware SE Build 1.01 ... then now Build 1.02.

    I have other anti-softwares working along side Ad-aware SE 1.02.

    No problem whatsoever.

    But but but ... be very very careful of what you delete from Ad-aware's detection.

    Especially if the detection prove to be those nasties that hook on to root keys or reg keys.

    Save a copy (quarantine it ... only learned this lately) if you intend to delete them. I deleted some nasties that hook on to my Win2K Reg Keys ... and my root keys ... resulted in non-workable IE6.0 and can even click link on certain websites.

    So there you go ... apart from that everything seems fine.

    :)
     
  12. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Today I went ahead and uninstalled 6 and installed SE, so far so good. My first scan did not find anything new, which is not surprising considering my browsing habits. I like the new interface; it’s only changed a bit but looks for current. Basically it’s the same Ad-Aware that I know and love, but with a better scanning engine and such. Anyone who is on the fence like I was should go ahead and get it.
     
  13. Snook

    Snook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    SE Plus runs like a fine Swiss watch!
     
  14. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Ad-aware SE is a do-it-all, swiss army knife like program.
     
  15. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,749
    Location:
    EU
    With version 1.03 no issues at all and running fast.
     
  16. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Yes. Ad-aware SE had a false positive on a Mozilla dll module. After it deleted the module I had to reinstall Mozilla.

    Rich
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.