Anybody have any issues with Ad-aware SE?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Matt_Smi, Aug 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    I have not downloaded Ad-aware SE yet, I am always a bit hesitant to get new programs, I am going to get it soon, but was wondering if anyone was having any problems with it? I heard that it detected a vital part of Firefox as spyware but that has been fixed in the newest release (1.02), I have also heard of it detecting some other false positives. I plan to scan with 6 one final time then uninstall 6, install and scan with SE to see if it picks up anything new that 6 was not finding, anyone finding that SE picks up a lot of new things?
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I installed SE yesterday, and I use Firefox on Win2k pro. I've had no problems whatsoever with the new Ad-Aware. No false positives, nothing new detected either. It seems to me like it might be scanning faster - but I don't time these things so I might be imagining that.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,747
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Rock Slide

    Rock Slide Guest

    I also have Ad-aware SE v 1.01 and Firefox 0.9.3 and no false positives here.

    Detox, i would agree with you Ad-aware seems to scan MUCH faster, and i do sorta time these things.
     
  5. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    hi
    i believe the new version is alot improved--seems that way to me.i havent had but one small prob.--sometimes it takes a long time to delete but it does detect numerous new things
    have a good day
    Rita :)
     
  6. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Excellent, no probs so far so good. Ad-aware's scanning speed is a bit faster in this SE version. Thumbs up for lavasoft! A job well done!
     
  7. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    I've had no problems with Build 1.02. I know of one problem with Build 1.01, however, where a scan trashed a user's copy of Mozilla (here).
     
  8. Etsnuffy

    Etsnuffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    East Tennessee
    No problems or false positives here as well. Using FF 0.9.3 and XP Home.
     
  9. quack(s)

    quack(s) Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Pensacola, Fl
    same here
    :D
     
  10. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Version 1.01 produced some false positives in my host files, but 1.02 corrected this. :)
    No more problems here. :D
     
  11. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    I've never encountered any problem with Ad-aware since Build 6.0. 181.

    I have also had Ad-aware SE Build 1.01 ... then now Build 1.02.

    I have other anti-softwares working along side Ad-aware SE 1.02.

    No problem whatsoever.

    But but but ... be very very careful of what you delete from Ad-aware's detection.

    Especially if the detection prove to be those nasties that hook on to root keys or reg keys.

    Save a copy (quarantine it ... only learned this lately) if you intend to delete them. I deleted some nasties that hook on to my Win2K Reg Keys ... and my root keys ... resulted in non-workable IE6.0 and can even click link on certain websites.

    So there you go ... apart from that everything seems fine.

    :)
     
  12. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Today I went ahead and uninstalled 6 and installed SE, so far so good. My first scan did not find anything new, which is not surprising considering my browsing habits. I like the new interface; it’s only changed a bit but looks for current. Basically it’s the same Ad-Aware that I know and love, but with a better scanning engine and such. Anyone who is on the fence like I was should go ahead and get it.
     
  13. Snook

    Snook Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Posts:
    182
    SE Plus runs like a fine Swiss watch!
     
  14. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Ad-aware SE is a do-it-all, swiss army knife like program.
     
  15. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    With version 1.03 no issues at all and running fast.
     
  16. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Yes. Ad-aware SE had a false positive on a Mozilla dll module. After it deleted the module I had to reinstall Mozilla.

    Rich
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.