Any word on CMH support for Agnitum Outpost

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by frogfoot, Sep 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    Hi,
    With Jasons recent posts about the problem with global hooks problem being fixed and the added support for process suspend the only other major problem for me is the inability to use CMH with Outpost firewall. I know that this is probably due to the way Outpost is coded, but is Jason likely to look at this specific issue?

    Thanks for a great product and great support.

    Tom
     
  2. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes, I like leaving CMH as the last thing to do due to nature of getting stuff to work with it. So when I work on it, I will be taking a look at Outpost and a few other firewalls.
     
  3. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    Great! I realy hope you can get it sorted.
    Thanks again
    Tom
     
  4. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    it works for me when I put cmh checked when outpost is closed. then when I start oupost it works.
     
  5. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    I agree that it seems that it is working correctly, ie. you select 'Shutdown and Exit Outpost' from the menu and a verification dialogue box pops up. You enter the code and press OK, Outpost then closes.

    However... What happens when you press the 'Cancel' button in the verification window? When I press 'Cancel' I would expect Outpost to continue running and no more verification windows. However what happens is a second verification window is displayed, so I press cancel again and then Outpost closes. I would not say that this is working correctly.

    Thanks
    Tom
     
  6. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    That I haven't tried to be honest. I haven't clicked on cancel because otherwise I would be doubting my own decision of exiting outpost :D but I promise I will do it when I get home. cmh with adwatch I tried like that and that works as supposed to...

    cheers
     
  7. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    I have just noticed a similar problem with TDS-3

    1) enable CMH in PG3 for TDS-3.
    2) Start TDS-3.
    3) Select 'Exit' from TDS3 task bar icon.
    4) Prompted with 'Do you wish to shut down TDS3?' dialogue, press 'Yes'.
    5) Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    Window name : #32770.


    press cancel

    6) Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    Window name :#32770


    press cancel

    7) Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    window name: ThunderRT6FormDC


    press cancel

    :cool: Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    window name: ThunderRT6FormDC


    press cancel

    9) Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    window name: TTSModeClass_0


    press cancel

    10) Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    window name: ThunderRT6FormDC


    press cancel

    11) Human Verification window pops up,

    Are you sure you want to close this window C:\Progran files\....\TDS-3.exe
    window name: ThunderRT6FormDC


    press cancel

    TDS then shuts down.

    It would be nice to only have to press cancel once, not for each window handle owned by the process. (similar to the OK for all when pressing OK in the Human Verification Window)

    But most importantly if I press cancel I would expect the program to continue running.

    Thanks again
    Tom
     
  8. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Well I have worked out the problem with Outpost, it seems it has an EXTRA window which has nothing on it and isn't visible to the user which when "closed" by APT or whatever program, it brings the whole application down with it.

    So even though the user can't see this window, APT can. I have added a special "check for outpost" so that it protects this particular window, and hence gives you a popup when something like APT closes it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2004
  9. frogfoot

    frogfoot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Yeovil UK
    Great news Jason,
    Thanks
    Tom
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.