Any way to restore the Registry?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bertsirkin, Apr 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bertsirkin

    bertsirkin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Is there a way to restore either specific registry entries or the entire registry with TrueImage 10 Home?
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Not by any specific command. You can't restore specific registry entries but I imagine you could Mount/Explore the image and extract the registry file and then use the normal methods to import it. Take this with a grain of salt since I haven't done this since W98.
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    You can also use EruNT to backup the registry periodically just like you would use TI to backup the entire drive. EruNT is free and has the restore feature built in. I use it for whenever I am trying new software in case I have to uninstall the software. Most uninstall routines always leave traces of the software behind in the registry. EruNT takes care of that.
     
  4. bertsirkin

    bertsirkin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Any idea where the registry file is stored? I can't seem to find any info on where it is in Vista.

    Bert
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The registry isn't a single file but about nine or so files that are not normally accessible except through a registry editor that can build a representation of all the hives. Unless you have a tool specifically for that purpose, your best best is to do a Windows restore to a prior Restore Point or, if if a Windows Restore point is not available, then a full restore of the windows system partition.


    You can find some info on the location of the regiatry file for some version of Win here. A little googling might help you find out if Vista is diff from the basic NT set up. In any event, you're better off using a registry backup-restore program like Windows Restore or erunt, etc.:

    http://www.easydesksoftware.com/regfiles.htm

    good luck,
    sh

     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2007
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    I was under the impression that on NT platforms the register was scattered amongst a number of files.

    F.
     
  7. bertsirkin

    bertsirkin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    That's a good idea - something I'm not doing now, so it doesn't help with my specific issue. But something for the future!

    I've never used EruNT but there seems to be some issues with it and Vista based on a cursory search. I'm pretty sure there's a command prompt registry backup - I just have to find it now!

    Thanks,
    Bert
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.