Any TIPS on using MSE?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by HJO, Jul 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HJO

    HJO Guest

    Hi,
    I would really like to use MSE, so I need your help.
    I heard that automatic update for MSE is different from other products?
    Like I have to go to "setting" and make it update itself before doing a scan?
    Even doing this I had to click on "update" everyday.
    Did I miss something?
    Can you share your TIPS on "setting" for MSE?
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    By default it automatically updates once every 24 hours, but that can cause problems in some peoples computers (like mine which doesn't have internet immediately because it's completely wireless). On others, it just works fine.

    There are ways to make it update more often automatically using scheduled tasks.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I have tried and tested lots of software, but never seen the need to try MSE. Perhaps it would not fit with the way I do things, computeristicly, that is...LOL...I just think I invented a new word. :D
     
  5. HJO

    HJO Guest

  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    HJO, you're welcome. If the review triggers any additional questions, feel free to post them here. Take care.
     
  7. Troy45

    Troy45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Using the Registry Editor :

    (a) Search your Windows registry in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE for: SignatureUpdateInterval

    (b) Double left click on "SignatureUpdateInterval" in the right pane of the Registry Editor

    (c) "Edit DWORD Value" for "SignatureUpdateInterval" to any number between 1 ~ 24 ( base hexadecimal) and then OK; I use 1. You will note that the default is 24.

    This will cause MSE to automatically seek new signatures every 1 hour instead of every 24. Any interval between 1 and 24 is valid.

    ( you may need to change permissions to do this )

    If you're using Vista/7, by default SYSTEM has ownership over that key and won't let any changes be made, to prevent malware from overriding the security settings under a given credential. You have to set the Administrators group (assuming you're an Administrator) as owner, then make the change to allow Administrators Full Control. Then you can update the key, and change the permissions back.

    I have been using this fix for over 4 months now and everytime I check I have the lastest definitions now.

    Can check here to see what the latest def version is: http://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/ADL.aspx

    Hope this helps. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2010
  8. HJO

    HJO Guest

    Hi,
    Is this right?
    Why is it in Microsoft Anti-Malware?
    Shouldn't it be in MSE?
    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      95.3 KB
      Views:
      8
  9. HJO

    HJO Guest

    I guess nobody knows? o_O
     
  10. HJO

    HJO Guest

    Can you teach me the method?
    Thanks
     
  11. Troy45

    Troy45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    HJO ... Yes that's it.

    It's at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft Antimalware\Signature Updates

    then

    "Edit DWORD Value" for "SignatureUpdateInterval" to any number between 1 ~ 24 ( base hexadecimal) and then OK; I use 1. You will note that the default is 24. If you select 1 then it will check for updates Hourly.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2010
  12. HJO

    HJO Guest

    Thanks.
    I was really waiting for your reply.
    Whew!
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Here's the best tip: Set it and Forget it.

    Microsoft has gone a long way making a successful yet simple looking product. An AV isn't supposed to be so complex that you think it's the cockpit to your PC and needs checked every day. I hear people complain sometimes that MSE's UI is too simple, and I really wonder why they are looking at an AV UI so much.

    Install it, forget it's there, use your PC.
     
  14. HJO

    HJO Guest

    I agree. "set it and forget it" is my favorite verse.
    But only if I am sure that MSE is doing what it is suppose to do (update to newest db by itself)
    *edit I had to update manually by myself again.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2010
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2010
  16. HJO

    HJO Guest

  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Priceless! :thumb:
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    trust me, I have them all and MSE ranks in my top 3. It is only going to get better. While vendors strain for monetary resources, this product isnt one that has to worry.
     
  19. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Very well said :thumb:
     
  20. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Removed several Off Topic Posts.
     
  21. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  22. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    does MSE scan web traffic ?
     
  23. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    No, but that doesn't make it less secure. Scanning web traffic simply makes the AV respond faster, MSE still blocks fine because it scans every new file on your hd.
     
  24. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    does MSE use incremental updates or full updates everytime ?
     
  25. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.