Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition..."?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sweet60, Aug 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweet60

    sweet60 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Stayed up all last night in this forum looking for the solution to the error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition from the image archive". I haven't found any solution and was just wondering if anyone has found one. Judging by the chatter, I know I am one of many with this problem. You try to explore an image, but when the program starts to mount a single partition or hard drive, the aforementioned error message pops up. It doesn't matter if you are trying to explore while assigning a drive letter or not assigning one, either way this message pops up. Anyway, I have an external hard drive that is used only for my images. I have successfully verified each image, but still can't explore them. The strange thing is, last week I tried to merge several partitions created with Norton Partition Magic and lost all of my data, but had a full backup. I was easily able to restore that full backup dated 7/16/05 without a hitch (whew!). I just can't EXPLORE any images stored on my external HD without getting the error message. Also, last week before the restoration, I screwed around with system restore. Could system restore mess up the ability to access your images? I would rather chew on tin foil than to never be able to access my images ever again. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello sweet60,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (903) of Acronis True Image 8.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    If the problem still persists after installing the update then please make sure that there are no EISA partition (generally the service partition on a laptop) in your image archive. In case your image contains EISA partition, please select the "Do not mount" option for it.

    If that's not the case then please make a screen shot of the latest screen of the Explore Image wizard which contains the operation scenario and send it to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  3. gwilki

    gwilki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Sweet60

    I was having the same problem, although I don't know if I could have restored using the image, since I didn't want to chance it. After a few weeks of waiting, Acronis support sent me instructions for registry edits and volume renaming that I would have had to do to explore the images. (You need to rename the volumes because the registry edit that they tell you to do changes all your volume letters.

    They told me in May that this was a "workaround", but they still do not have a permanent solution. I was using the newest build of Corporate Workstation, and when the new one came out recently, I installed it - same problem.

    I have dropped TI because I can't take the chance that it won't restore when I need it.

    Grant
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    I haven't tried this but I understand you can explore images using the BartPE CD and Acronis TI plugin. Can anyone confirm this?

    The Reatogo BartPE version certainly claims to be able to explore an image.
     
  5. dschoppe

    dschoppe Guest

    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    Using TI Corp Workstation (15 day trial) I created an image archive in a secure zone on my Dell 700m laptop. Had problems creating the secure zone initially when I also enabled Startup Recovery Manager, but more recently TI reported successful secure zone creation (with recovery manager disabled). I was then able to create an image in the secure zone, and I can see that some space has been consumed there. However, when I try to explore or check the image, TI reports either "cannot assign drive letter," or now more often, "Acronis Secure Zone Does Not Have Any Images."

    My trial version of TI 8.0 Corp Workstation is build 1,158.

    Don
     
  6. dschoppe

    dschoppe Guest

    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    I just wanted to add that the laptop is running WinXP Pro SP2. Also, the problem seems intermittent. I tried closing and restarting TI, for example, and now TI will run check image as well as explore and mount drive letters. Not very confidence inspiring I'm afraid.
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    Hi, dschoppe

    I agree sounds rubbish, get a New Laptop.

    Take Care.
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. dschoppe

    dschoppe Guest

    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    I trust you jest Quest? ;)

    The laptop is brand new and works fine. In any case, after I shutdown/restarted TI, I was able to create several images and explore them. I would like to be confident that the recovery would work in a true emergency. :)

    Don
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    Hello dschoppe,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Remote Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that the problem you have reported is known and our Development Team is already working on it. The fix for this problem will be implemented in the future builds of Acronis True Image Corporate Workstation 8.0.

    Please accept our apologies for the current inconvenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  10. dschoppe

    dschoppe Guest

    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    Alexey, thanks for the information.

    Regards,
    Don
     
  11. jjhendri

    jjhendri Guest

    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    I have the same problem with acronis true image v 8.0 build 937 for the home, no solution, tried going back to earlier builds but same issue.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: Any solution yet to error message "cannot assign a drive letter to a partition...

    Hello jjhendri,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please provide us with the more detailed information on the problem?

    Please describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    What exact error messages have you received?

    When exactly you receive these error messages?

    Where do you store your images?

    Partitions of what types are included in the image archive?

    Please also run "regedit" command and let me know the data lines of the below registry keys:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318} -> UpperFilters

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F} -> UpperFilters

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.