Any Recommendations on a encrypted flash drive??

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by WannaLearn, Mar 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WannaLearn

WannaLearn Registered Member

I am looking for a good encrypted flash drive but i have read a lot on companies leaving back door access and i am not sure what to get. I am a bit of a noob but i am fascinated with computer security and i am trying to learn linux and other cool things. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I am looking at a NEW Kanguru Defender2000 Hardware Encrypted Secure USB Flash Drive FIPS 140-2 Le at the moment. Thanx

2. chiraldude

chiraldude Registered Member

Don't know about Kanguru but have you looked at Ironkey?
    Great if you can afford it but encrypting a standard flash drive is just as good and may be better. All depends on whether you trust hardware encryption or open source encryption software.

3. ams963

ams963 Registered Member

I've my usb drive encrypted with TrueCrypt. No need for hardware encryption. TrueCrypt is fine.:thumb:

4. kareldjag

kareldjag Registered Member

5. WannaLearn

Wow thank you for the link KareldJag that is a perfect guide for me since i am a new to this. I have come across true crypt a lot from reading threads on this website but it seemed to complicated to me. I think i am gonna try it out on a reg flash drive.:)

One more question so if i bought a reg encrypted flash drive is it still possible to add truecrypt to it in the future if i wanted? Kinda like a double layer? My main goal is to have a portable secure flash drive with all my stuff on it when i travel.

6. chiraldude

chiraldude Registered Member

Should be no problem to add Truecrypt to a hardware encrypted flash drive.
    May be a performance hit but probably not.