Any info on this?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Yash Khan, Aug 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Attached is the screenshot

    Sometimes when I copy installers from system to USB, I get the window in the screenshot.

    Any info?
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG.png
      IMG.png
      File size:
      43.1 KB
      Views:
      76
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    What filesystem is the USB device? Also does it happen with any file or just executables?
     
  3. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    Do you have a anti-virus program that uses a cache system to speed up scans? I get this sometimes with BitDefender, it basically means the security app uses NTFS ADS (Alternate Data Streams) tags on files it has already scanned to speed up scanning, when then copying the files over to USB stick formatted in FAT32 you get that message, it just means that it can't copy over the ADS tags.

    Safe to ignore, your files are ok :)
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    I didn't know BitDefender is using ADS. Does it remove them when uninstalled? I remember Kaspersky was using them also years ago and it has caused a lot of users angry when they realized that ADS remained after KAV uninstall.
     
  5. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Maybe some restriction on external devices because of settings in apps like SpyShelter, AG or similar?
     
  6. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Yes, Bitdefender Free is installed on the system.

    So files are ok.

    The original file properties shows 6 tabs but the copied file properties shows 4 tabs, thats fine?
    But yes the digital signtaure is ok.
     
  7. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm not 100% sure but they do have a scan cache functionality in the AV engine, only times I got the message that narenbisht gets was with Bitdefender AV+ 2013-2014 installed & copying software installers to USB stick.

    Maybe the separate Bitdefender uninstall tool removes them, it certainly takes it time :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014
  8. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yeah your files are fine, just the ADS tags can't be copied to a FAT32 formatted USB drive as FAT32 doesn't support them.
     
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.