Any ideas on this one?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by T772, Nov 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. T772

    T772 Guest


    When ever im online and visit some websites i always see this address connected using TCPView and i dont really know what to make of it. So i was wondering what people thought of this strange connection, the only info i can find relates to IRC?

    Any ideas would be very helpful


  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Feb 9, 2002
    BC, Canada
    Canonical name:
    Trying at ARIN
    Trying 213.200.109 at ARIN
    OrgName:    RIPE Network Coordination Centre 
    OrgID:      RIPE
    Address:    P.O. Box 10096
    City:       Amsterdam
    PostalCode: 1001EB
    Country:    NL
    ReferralServer: whois://
    NetRange: - 
    NetName:    RIPE-213
    NetHandle:  NET-213-0-0-0-1
    NetType:    Allocated to RIPE NCC
    NameServer: NS-PRI.RIPE.NET
    NameServer: NS3.NIC.FR
    NameServer: SUNIC.SUNET.SE
    NameServer: NS-EXT.ISC.ORG
    NameServer: SEC1.APNIC.NET
    NameServer: SEC3.APNIC.NET
    NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
    Comment:    These addresses have been further assigned to users in
    Comment:    the RIPE NCC region. Contact information can be found in
    Comment:    the RIPE database at
    Updated:    2005-07-27
    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-11-12 19:10
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
    whois -h ...
    % This is the RIPE Whois query server #1.
    % The objects are in RPSL format.
    % Note: the default output of the RIPE Whois server
    % is changed. Your tools may need to be adjusted. See
    % for more details.
    % Rights restricted by copyright.
    % See
    % Note: This output has been filtered.
    %       To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag.
    % Information related to ' -'
    inetnum: -
    netname:        AKAMAI-TINET
    descr:          Akamai Technologies
    country:        US
    admin-c:        JOI-RIPE
    tech-c:         JOI-RIPE
    status:         ASSIGNED PA
    mnt-by:         TISCALI-INT-NET
    source:         RIPE # Filtered
    person:       Johannes Magnusson
    address:      Akamai Technologies, Inc.
    address:      8 Cambridge Center
    address:      Cambridge, MA 02142
    address:      USA
    phone:        +1 617 444 2576
    nic-hdl:      JOI-RIPE
    source:       RIPE # Filtered
    % Information related to ''
    descr:        Tiscali International Network
    origin:       AS3257
    mnt-by:       TISCALI-INT-ROUTE
    source:       RIPE # Filtered
    Akamai servers are widely used for providing web content.

    What information do you have that associates it with IRC?


  3. T772

    T772 Guest

    Thanks for info Crazy M, i just had alook on samspade and it came up with this, not very helpful as it gives details of tiscali. While searching on google various strange references to IRC ports 2-6 and the gilat network!!

    These Akami servers are driving me up the wall as i always seem to be connecting to them for different things!! CrazyM what program or website did you use to get the info from, cheers for helpin me out with my Akami problems:)

    thanks T

    This means you connect using normal web http to host

    The URL is accessible as and is hosted by

    Enter the URL (eg http://3520569262/wherever.html)

    Server Used: [ ] = [ ]
    Tiscali S.p.A. (TISCALIS457)
    Viale Trento 39
    09123 Cagliari
    Domain name:
    Technical contact:
    S.p.A. Tiscali (TS1029)
    SS 195 Km 2.300 Loc. Sa Illetta
    Cagliari Cagliari 09100

    39.704601400 Fax:
    Administrative contact:
    D'Arpa Sergio (SD450)
    Tiscali S.p.A.
    Viale Trento 39
    Cagliari 09123

    39.704601400 Fax: 39.704601400
    Record created: 2003-09-27 17: 14: 34
    Record last updated: 2004-03-09 15: 25: 32
    Record expires: 2007-07-26 00: 00: 00
    Domain servers in listed order:
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 13, 2005
  4. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Feb 9, 2002
    BC, Canada
    "" the port-2-6 is just part of the name for the server, not the actual ports used.

    It is normal to see them serving content for sites and nothing to worry about.

    For the whois lookups I used the Sam Spade for Windows utility.

    Whois lookups can also be done directly at:
    ARIN WHOIS Database Search
    Internic Whois Search
    RIPE Whois Search
    APNIC Whois Search
    LACNIC Whois Search


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.