Any hardware differences TI8 vs. TI9 ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Minsak, Nov 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Minsak

    Minsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Got the TI8.

    Just curious if there is some hardware that you will find that the newer TI9 does support that you will not get with the TI8 build 937?

    For instance, Will the TI8 suppor Dual Layer DVD recording?
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    I don't know about more hardware support, but the rescue CD does have a better interface in that it gives you a choice of the standard rescue CD and the "safe mode" rescue CD. If you already have your DL DVD, give the ver 9 trial a run to see if it will "see" your DL DVD.
     
  3. Minsak

    Minsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    I may just do that. First I need to invest in such a Dual Layer hardware though.
    Next I am a bit perplexed if a Trial installation of TI9 would mess up the allready installed TI8 installation. Either under the Trial software installation or uninstallation ??
     
  4. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    You could always uninstall 8 first then install the trial 9. If it doesn't do what you want, uninstall it and go back to 8.

    BTW, dual layer aside, many people have problems burning direct to dvd. You first have to prepare the media for packet writing. In my opinion the success of a direct burn to dvd is too "hit and miss". And if your hard drive is more than 10 gig, the image you burn will require more than one dvd. Since large hard drives are so cheap now, you will have better success burning your image to it instead. Afterwards, if you want double insurance, you can also burn the image file to dvd using a standard dvd burning software, which you should get with the dvd burner.
     
  5. Minsak

    Minsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Thank you for the harddisk suggestion. Is it ok with any type of harddisk interfaces? Today you get harddisk with at least these interfaces for desktop users:

    USB2.0
    USB2.0 and Firewire
    Firewire (400 speed)
    (more seldom also the Firewire 800)
    Serial-ATA (150 speed and the newer 300 speed)
    IDE (fading slowly away from the market)

    Will the boot CD handle all of them even when windows is not loaded? Does the boot CD got USB drivers loaded with it?
     
  6. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    I can't speak for SATA or Firewire, except to say that some have reported problems with Firewire. But if it is a desktop system, I would go with an IDE internal drive. I have tested a hard drive in an external USB 2 enclosure for my laptop and ver 9 build 2302 works.

    Cloning to an external seems to have a problem when there is a size difference between the source drive and the drive in the enclosure. But maybe it was just my hardware. Though I tried three different types of enclosures. When I cloned a 160 gig WD to a 160 Gig Maxtor in the enclosure, I had no problems.

    Imaging to an external and subsequent restore was okay. Always test the "restore" to see if it really works.

    The boot CD has USB drivers - don't know about firewire.
     
  7. Minsak

    Minsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Testing the restore function should need a blank ekstra harddisk, designated for such testing purposes I would guess.
     
  8. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Yes, but the cost of one for peace of mind is worth it to me.
     
  9. Minsak

    Minsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Bought the Farstone RestoreIT 7.0 Pro

    This software required me to uninstall Acronis True Image, believe it or not. :eek: So I did for at least some time to come. I felt the need for some "GoBack" like tool you see. I don't know how good the cloning utility is with the Pro editions extra features. Hope they are as good as on other competitive tools. *puppy* My TI8 installation is hereby abandoned for a while.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.