Any good reason to upgrade to ATI 10?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JimmyD, Apr 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    I got a copy of the free version of ATI 7. I finally got around to restoring an image (didn't plan to) and it worked flawlessly. I'm impressed.

    Is there any good reason to upgrade to version 10? I'm reading alot if issues here but I'd like to support the company by making a purchase.

    Anyone regret upgrading?
     
  2. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    If you want Vista support.:D
     
  3. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    No Vista here and no plans. Maybe in a few years when the SP's are out and I buy a new PC.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Smart move. :cool:
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The main advantage of ATI10, beisdes newer linux drivers for the boot CD, which shouldn't matter if your current version of ATI is working for you, is the ability to use managed backup locations. With these, ATI10 will automatically control the number fo backups saved based on limits you set for size, number of backups, or age of backups--in each case the oldest being deleted automatically after a limit is reached. And this involves no hidden partitions like the Secure Zone and you can access the files, copy, delete them without any special software. Howver, to mount hte imgaes requires that ATI be installed.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  7. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    If you buy it make sure you uninstall the trial version FIRST then, install the 'paid version & you'll have to run a new backup & restore it to test it. Good luck!
     
  8. JimmyD

    JimmyD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    100
    Thanks for all of the replies, I think I may take a look at version 10.
     
  9. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    As long as your hardware is supported by version 7, you can keep using it.

    If some of the new features in version 10 insterst you, then give it a try.

    Just be sure to make a full backup image before installing TI 10 so that if you are not happy, you can get back to TI 7.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.