Any freeware tray clock recommendations?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Page42, Aug 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I'm looking for a good freeware tray clock program as a replacement for the standard WindowsXP clock.
    I used Sarbyx TrayClock for a long time, then took it off for awhile, and when I put it back, I started getting some strange system behaviors, so I don't want to go that route again.
    Hopefully some of you have a favorite.
    I don't want to pay. :)
     
  2. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
  3. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  4. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  6. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2010
  7. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
  8. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Great recommendations! Thank you, all.
    I particularly appreciate when personal experience is noted.
    (Actually, saying you have no personal experience with the program is helpful, as well.)
    :)
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Hey ruinebabine... I just read on Gizmo's that LClock doesn't allow a simultaneous time and date display. :( That's a requirement in what I'm looking for. Are they correct in that?
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Hi culla... Do you know if ClocX allows for a simultaneous time and date display?
     
  13. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA

    Attached Files:

  14. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I am trying the one from GAOTD- it has several different clock skins available and a few calendars.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    I very much like the looking of this one (I had a free kinda desktop/screensaver very similar that I used for a good while back then, I will check in my backyard if I could'n find it there).

    I will give this a try, thanks.
     
  16. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Please check this comment there:

    -----
    Dear Gizmo,
    In your review of LClock you said:

    LClock doesn't allow a simultaneous time and date display. Ah, perfection is so elusive ;>)

    I have discovered that you can get today’s date & time displayed simultaneously if you:
    • go to LC properties
    • click on the Clock tab
    • change “show” to Day of Month
    • choose 12 hour time
    • Apply

    You should now have hour shown full size & minutes & date shown about half size. I have italicized my date to differentiate it from the minutes.

    Regards,
    Clive

    -----

    EDIT As for myself, I prefer to just hover my mouse there (or single click on her to pop the little calendar) when I am too blurred <;o) to be sure of the date or day I am on. And please forget that flat skin I am under right now: I prefer to let you experiment with the nice effects you can achieve with playing with this tiny toy;-)) LC.png

    (...and I always also keep on or under my desk some PowerPro bar available to complete the job PPro.png )

    And feel free to ask any question, I am using this one for so many years, after having had tclockX for another good while...
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  17. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I like it too, except I can't keep it where I want it to stay on the desktop, despite using the "lock window position" feature, and Online Armor really flips out over this program, saying it is a keylogger. :(
     

    Attached Files:

  18. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I use DSClock in both Vista and W7 with OA++. I don't get a keylogger indication (I have it trusted though), so try trusting or else excluding it in OA. It also stays where I put it-what does it do when you use it? Check the settings in case there is a sizing mismatch (I think I recall the characters can overflow the field sometimes if you don't have margins).
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  19. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    yes it does plus its got many skins and alarm as well i use it
     
  20. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Hi sded... Yes, I can trust it in OA, but it is interesting to watch the program's behavior when OA isn't told to exclude it or trust it. I'm not real clear on why this program generates keylogger alerts, and honestly, I also am not real keen on allowing it to function freely until I know more.

    The inability to keep the clock where I want it to stay is discouraging, and perplexing. I have uninstalled and reinstalled, to no avail. I also excluded it in OA to see if that was causing the "lock window position" feature to not work, but no dice. The program first opens the clock in the upper right area of the desktop, and I am trying to relocate it to the system tray, to reside on top of the Windows tray clock. If I put it there, lock it, then exit the program, upon reopening, it shows up in the top right again. Same thing if I reboot when it is in the systray... it does not remember the location.

    I have emailed the developer with my experiences.
    (I also checked the character settings per your suggestion.)
     
  21. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Hi ruinebabine... thanks for the solid input.
    I'm taking a break from testing trayclocks for a few hours.
    I plan on trying LClock at some point, since you have assured me that it does allow a simultaneous time and date display.
    :thumb:
     
  23. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I see your alert is actually for a screen logger, which sounds more like what the program does than a keylogger. The moving sounds like contention with a higher priority that won't let it stay there. Have you tried turning "always on top" on and off? There may be a restriction on where you can put it because of that. Hope you hear from the developer; I have been happy with it for several years as a screen clock.
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    There were OA keylogger alerts as well, as you'll see below. When I mentioned that OA flipped out, I mean it was throwing lots of alerts, with numerous keylogger and screen logger references.

    Have I tried turning "always on top" on and off? Just on. The program is off my computer for now. If I reinstall it, I will try the "always on top" off.

    Edit in: By the way, what does dsclock do that makes you say it is like a screen logger?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  25. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Interesting. I don't get any alerts from OA 4.5.0.334 and didn't previously, with the program trusted. As far as what it does, I think it is just the interaction with the rest of the things on the screen that can cause some alerts.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.