Any free Kaspersky based AV's?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Apr 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    What title says, are there any Kaspersky based free antiviruses? And i don't mean ZoneAlarm which is the only that i know and i don't like it because of many stupid things, their crappy firewall and its consuming 25% of CPU all the time for no real reason.
     
  2. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Sadly, I remember AOL Active Virus Control. It's too bad it was discontinued because it was pretty good at the time. Hopefully somebody knows of more recent Kaspersky-based free antivirus software. :cool:
     
  3. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Interested in realtime only?
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It has to be real-time.
     
  5. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  6. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
  7. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    894
    :rolleyes:
     
  8. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    upp's my bad lol,dint read that ;)
     
  9. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Not sure how this is helpful...
     
  11. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Your answer is no, no good ones running in real-time at this time. That's the most honest reply I can give you.
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It seems like ZoneAlarm is the only one, but it's a crappy package.
     
  13. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    That's something like asking: "Can i have a meal for free? but it can't be any meal, it has to be a great meal, in a great restaurant, and it has to be free".

    Of course there's nothing wrong about asking :D
     
  14. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,459
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Running any torrent or similar P2P? The only reason why the driver should consume CPU is data filtering. Otherwise, you have CPU use during AV updates or AV scans. If you don't have any of these, it can only be a conflict with something running on the system. A clean boot (with ZA and MS standard items only) via MSCONFIG will tell you if it is the case.
     
  16. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    With regard to this forum's copyrighted material policy, I'll refer to the metrics here in round-about terms versus their exact values:

    I $ub$cribe to the VB100 Comparative reports. In the latest (December, 2013) results, of the almost fifty apps tested and of the two dozen or so listed as using "Third-party engine technology," only Zone Alarm is Kaspersky.

    Methinks you is SOL, pal. Your foraging yields carrion and not the steak you crave. *puppy*

    In contrast, nearly a dozen and a half are Bitdefender...
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    This thing with CPU usage seems to be an old bug with ZoneAlarm that the devs just can't seem to catch. I've had it in the past but not so recently at least. But then I no longer use ZA on a regular basis.
     
  18. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    if you want kaspersky just use kaspersky and not ZA /
    I personally like them both and use them both. ZA Av pro and KIS ZA is heavier but i still like it.
     
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Gery, I think Razor wants a free Kaspersky and the only one having KAV in free form is ZA. However the free version only implements part of the KAV engine in retail version of ZA. I.e no cloud. So although still enough protection no strong coverage for 0 day. The manual AV Update is just a minor issue as compared to the above.
     
  20. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'd be fine even without cloud, but not with crappy 24 update check cycle.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Detection wise (and therefore protection) it is an issue as you cannot activate the cloud even manually as you can do with AV updates ;)
     
  22. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    894
    I second that. :(
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Well, de gustibus non est disputandum, i.e. personal preference cannot be disputed. But allow me to say that its like saying I cannot stand a car without automatic transmission but I don't mind if the breaks only works properly below 60 miles/h :argh:
     
  24. fenson

    fenson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    I know this doesn't help,but the Chinese version of Baidu Antivirus uses the Kaspersky engine.I wish they would release that into an English version.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.