Antivirus shuts down

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Venture321, Jan 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Venture321

    Venture321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    I get a message that NOD32 has encountered a problem & will shut down. I then have to restart it manually. I tried to repair it by reinstalling the program, but it still happens. What is wrong?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does it happen in a specific situation, e.g. when running a scan or there's no common pattern ? If you have v5 installed, you can enable generation of dumps in the Diagnostics section of the main setup and, when the program crashes, provide the dump to customer care for perusal.
     
  3. Venture321

    Venture321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    I usually find the notice when I come back to my computer, after it was sitting idle for awhile.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please check if you have v5 set to generate memory dumps upon a crash as instructed in my previous post.
     
  5. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Do you have a 3rd party defrag utility that runs when the system is idle?
     
  6. Venture321

    Venture321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, but it only runs once a week at 1:45 AM.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.