Antivirus and antispyware module downgraded after enabling pre-release.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by xan K, Aug 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    I enabled pre-release module updates and somehow the Antivirus and antispyware scanner module is now v.1315 [noparse](2011080:cool:[/noparse] when it used to be v.1318 (20110812). Are pre-release module "updates" always supposed to replace released modules even if they are older? Not cool, if that's the case.
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    are you using the beta.
     
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Enabling pre-release will change your installed modules My personal overall experience is without pre-release installed.
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you are using the RC you are not supposed to enable pre-release updates since that will cause the V4 modules to get downloaded.
     
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    That option is for beta testing modules before the official release.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If you mean beta test on v4 prior to release of the v5 engine, this would be an incorrect statement.

    Pre-release updates are opt-in for v4 users that want to use this feature. I do not use this feature. This is not to say I discourage it's use.

     
  7. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    no, i used pre-release updates even before any build of v5. Thanks for asking as other users may misunderstand my statement.
     
  8. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    I stopped using pre-release and the most up-to-date modules were back downloaded. I'm using v4.2.71.2 btw.
    I think it should never replace newer modules no matter what.
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    As I noted here reverting from pre-release will revert you modules to a non Beta status. Again, this is user choice.

    Thank you.

     
  10. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    i think it is for flexibility: user choice over what version of the module build he want to use/test.
    This can be used as a workaround when some modules are causing problems.

    While the released modules have enough good quality compared to pre-released modules, they are not guaranteed to be bug-free.
     
  11. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    You mean the release modules are not guaranteed to be bug-free, opposed to the beta ones? I always thought it was the other way around. O.O
     
  12. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    you cannot expect a perfect software, released modules were extensively tested in the pre-release phase.

    Aryeh from ESET, has answered in a similar way --> https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1573532&postcount=12
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.