Antivirus and antispyware module downgraded after enabling pre-release.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by xan K, Aug 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    154
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    I enabled pre-release module updates and somehow the Antivirus and antispyware scanner module is now v.1315 [noparse](2011080:cool:[/noparse] when it used to be v.1318 (20110812). Are pre-release module "updates" always supposed to replace released modules even if they are older? Not cool, if that's the case.
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    are you using the beta.
     
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Enabling pre-release will change your installed modules My personal overall experience is without pre-release installed.
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you are using the RC you are not supposed to enable pre-release updates since that will cause the V4 modules to get downloaded.
     
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    That option is for beta testing modules before the official release.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If you mean beta test on v4 prior to release of the v5 engine, this would be an incorrect statement.

    Pre-release updates are opt-in for v4 users that want to use this feature. I do not use this feature. This is not to say I discourage it's use.

     
  7. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    no, i used pre-release updates even before any build of v5. Thanks for asking as other users may misunderstand my statement.
     
  8. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    154
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    I stopped using pre-release and the most up-to-date modules were back downloaded. I'm using v4.2.71.2 btw.
    I think it should never replace newer modules no matter what.
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    As I noted here reverting from pre-release will revert you modules to a non Beta status. Again, this is user choice.

    Thank you.

     
  10. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    i think it is for flexibility: user choice over what version of the module build he want to use/test.
    This can be used as a workaround when some modules are causing problems.

    While the released modules have enough good quality compared to pre-released modules, they are not guaranteed to be bug-free.
     
  11. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    154
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    You mean the release modules are not guaranteed to be bug-free, opposed to the beta ones? I always thought it was the other way around. O.O
     
  12. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    you cannot expect a perfect software, released modules were extensively tested in the pre-release phase.

    Aryeh from ESET, has answered in a similar way --> https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1573532&postcount=12
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.