antivir updates unbearably slow today?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Anth-Unit, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    I'm downloading at anywhere between 10kb/s and 1kb/s. And yes, I have the full retail version. And my internet is running normally. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    I am having this problem as well.
    But i think everybody has it because they released a mjaor update today , that could be the reason why it's so slow.
    i downloaded 13kB/s
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Someting is wrong. Even if you try to download the product it crawls.:mad:
     
  4. ghidorah68

    ghidorah68 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine is really slow too. When it get's to the second part of the update, the time remaining 'clock' gets all messed up.

    Medank, what's the major update today? I couldn't find any info on the Avira website.
     
  5. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi

    Coinsidence! :doubt:
    OR...
    Something Is Terribly Wrong! :'(

    I think I've got a Virus on both my Desktop and Laptop :argh:

    I Can't Update Either...

    AVG 8 - Desktop Computer

    NIS 09 - Laptop

    I Am Able To Update... SAS & MBAM

    Have So Far Scanned...

    Desktop Computer
    AVG 8 - Normal Mode
    SAS - Normal Mode
    MBAM - Normal Mode
    At This Moment... Scanning In Normal Mode With - Windows Defender

    Laptop
    NIS 09 - Normal Mode
    NIS 09 - Safe Mode
    SAS - Normal Mode
    SAS - Safe Mode


    NOTE
    It's would take forever to explain.
    But I think the Virus is possibly... iexplorer .exe
    Please See 8th Post Down : https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=221581&highlight=Spikes


    Thanks In Advance! ;)

    Almost Forgot...
    All Scans Have Come Back - Clean!
    But Why Can't I Update AVG 8 and NIS 09
    I have the Paid - AVG 8
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  6. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108

    I'm not really sure if mine even updated correctly. This morning, I remember downloading a smaller file followed by a much larger one. I canceled it cause I had to go to class but when I finished the update later today the larger file did not pop up. Is there any way I can tell if it updated correctly?
     
  7. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    USA/KY
    My update box wont even appear, everything else program wise updates and fast.
     
  8. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Did a reboot nothing, ran ccleaner and reboot, now it works.
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    let me see what I can find out. But right now this is totally unacceptable.
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Posted from Avira.




    Due to a new VDF of substantial volume the update servers are snowed under the press of people, who all want to have their update immediately.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    my question is, how the hell can there be a press of people if it wasnt known about the VDF update. Hell, I didnt even know. Stefano_O?
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    looks like it starting to ease some, I guess as those in Europe go night-night.;)
     
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,949
    Location:
    Hawaii
    There was a REALLY biiiig update today of major files as well as signatures. It was slow, but I got it okay.

    I am happy that Avira makes frequent, major upgrades to its engines, files, etc. I wish they had a few more servers for those times, however. (Sigh)
     
  14. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
  15. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    For all of the newer members that are worried...relax. :D Sometimes servers are actually overburdened! It's happened to me over the years with other products.
     
  16. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    I just updated with no problems.
     
  17. gismo999

    gismo999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    I have just checked my updates.....
    I have mine scheduled to check every hour and I took 6 updates today!

    I think that's the most I have seen in 1 day
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    run a full scan
     
  19. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    but maybe avira does not detect that file iexplore"r" even if i run a full scan.
     
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,485
    Winpatrol Plus info on iexplorer.exe
     

    Attached Files:

  21. ghidorah68

    ghidorah68 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine finally did updated properly...that's all I care about!
     
  22. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  23. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,021
    please give me the proper link for a manual uninstallation tool for avira. it seems like it doesn't want to go off my computer
     
  24. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    503
    Until someone provides the link try disabling the guard.That should cancel the freeze(in case this is what happened)
     
  25. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    but even if it is slow it still download's the updates, so i would not change AV just because sometimes or rarely updates slow.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. kdcdq
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    860
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.