antivir updates unbearably slow today?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Anth-Unit, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    I'm downloading at anywhere between 10kb/s and 1kb/s. And yes, I have the full retail version. And my internet is running normally. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    I am having this problem as well.
    But i think everybody has it because they released a mjaor update today , that could be the reason why it's so slow.
    i downloaded 13kB/s
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Someting is wrong. Even if you try to download the product it crawls.:mad:
     
  4. ghidorah68

    ghidorah68 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine is really slow too. When it get's to the second part of the update, the time remaining 'clock' gets all messed up.

    Medank, what's the major update today? I couldn't find any info on the Avira website.
     
  5. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi

    Coinsidence! :doubt:
    OR...
    Something Is Terribly Wrong! :'(

    I think I've got a Virus on both my Desktop and Laptop :argh:

    I Can't Update Either...

    AVG 8 - Desktop Computer

    NIS 09 - Laptop

    I Am Able To Update... SAS & MBAM

    Have So Far Scanned...

    Desktop Computer
    AVG 8 - Normal Mode
    SAS - Normal Mode
    MBAM - Normal Mode
    At This Moment... Scanning In Normal Mode With - Windows Defender

    Laptop
    NIS 09 - Normal Mode
    NIS 09 - Safe Mode
    SAS - Normal Mode
    SAS - Safe Mode


    NOTE
    It's would take forever to explain.
    But I think the Virus is possibly... iexplorer .exe
    Please See 8th Post Down : https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=221581&highlight=Spikes


    Thanks In Advance! ;)

    Almost Forgot...
    All Scans Have Come Back - Clean!
    But Why Can't I Update AVG 8 and NIS 09
    I have the Paid - AVG 8
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  6. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108

    I'm not really sure if mine even updated correctly. This morning, I remember downloading a smaller file followed by a much larger one. I canceled it cause I had to go to class but when I finished the update later today the larger file did not pop up. Is there any way I can tell if it updated correctly?
     
  7. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    My update box wont even appear, everything else program wise updates and fast.
     
  8. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Did a reboot nothing, ran ccleaner and reboot, now it works.
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    let me see what I can find out. But right now this is totally unacceptable.
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Posted from Avira.




    Due to a new VDF of substantial volume the update servers are snowed under the press of people, who all want to have their update immediately.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    my question is, how the hell can there be a press of people if it wasnt known about the VDF update. Hell, I didnt even know. Stefano_O?
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    looks like it starting to ease some, I guess as those in Europe go night-night.;)
     
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    There was a REALLY biiiig update today of major files as well as signatures. It was slow, but I got it okay.

    I am happy that Avira makes frequent, major upgrades to its engines, files, etc. I wish they had a few more servers for those times, however. (Sigh)
     
  14. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
  15. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    For all of the newer members that are worried...relax. :D Sometimes servers are actually overburdened! It's happened to me over the years with other products.
     
  16. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    I just updated with no problems.
     
  17. gismo999

    gismo999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    I have just checked my updates.....
    I have mine scheduled to check every hour and I took 6 updates today!

    I think that's the most I have seen in 1 day
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    run a full scan
     
  19. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    but maybe avira does not detect that file iexplore"r" even if i run a full scan.
     
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Winpatrol Plus info on iexplorer.exe
     

    Attached Files:

  21. ghidorah68

    ghidorah68 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine finally did updated properly...that's all I care about!
     
  22. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  23. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    please give me the proper link for a manual uninstallation tool for avira. it seems like it doesn't want to go off my computer
     
  24. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    Until someone provides the link try disabling the guard.That should cancel the freeze(in case this is what happened)
     
  25. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    but even if it is slow it still download's the updates, so i would not change AV just because sometimes or rarely updates slow.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.