AntiVir servers slow?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mrkvonic, Oct 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yankinNcrankin

    yankinNcrankin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    406
    This is patience at its finest, but its free.....:D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  3. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,909
    Location:
    USA
    It was painfully slow, but one can't get too excited about temporary slowdowns that are out of your control.
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,844
    Very fast on my XP laptop.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. slysy

    slysy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I am trialling the premium version and am not very impressed with these speeds. Is it a frequent problem on the premium servers?
     
  6. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I have my Premium set to update once a day and it is always fast. No problems at all.
     
  7. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    no it's just a temporary problem. this should not last long time. on time you got the antivir0.vdf it should be back to normal.
     
  8. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    Couldn't Avira have separated the update into two or even three smaller portions over a week? Would that not have placed less strain on servers?
     
  9. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    this is what they did the last time. the vdf0 was divided in 31 vdf. But at the end there were still the same problems. i think they tried a diffrent method this time by adding new servers for this update.
    we'll see what comes next time. But they will surely find something else to improve and reduce these problems.
     
  10. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    Actually they need to get more servers and figure out why it takes so long for us to update. This is terrible. It sat for 3 hours trying to update. I have had clients call and say they cannot update their free nor their paid versions.
    How do they expect us to keep our computers up to date if they cannot get their update servers to work properly.

    AVG 8.0 can send out updates
    Norton (as much as I do not like their product) can get out updates
    Avast gets out their updates
    What is Avira's problem?

    robin
     
  11. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Bandwidth; one would think it's pretty obvious to everyone? As for your clients, I'd suggest to set the updates to "invisible" and move on. People that don't have better things to do but stare at update window of some application, uh...
     
  12. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    they added 8 new servers for this update and added 6GB Bandwidth.

    comparing to other companys is difficult. norton has enough money to finance enough servers for paid products. Avira needs to finance servers for 60 million free Users. this isn't unlimited, but they try to reduced the update problems. by improving the product to reduce the update size but also having added 6 new update servers in the last 3 years and now 8 new servers only for this update.

    i understand that users would like to not have these problems, but regardless these problems the number of classicusers raised about 50 million in the last 3 years and Avira is trying to reduce the period of these update problems as far as they have the possibilities to do so.
     
  13. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102

    But i still don't understand this, IT IS NOT A PROBLEM AT ALL, the Updates are being UPDATED, why must they watch when avira updates what it updates how long it updates? this is seek :D
    It would be another thing if the updates stop or not updating because very slow,
    Avira added 8 new servers i hope & think this will not happend again.
     
  14. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Because people have too much time on their hands, that's all. Useless thread, please close this. If you want an improvement, either sponsor some collocations for them and/or go suggest them distributing updates in a better way as I've already done.
     
  15. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    agree with you people have too much time on their hands,
    please close this topic.
     
  16. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    x10

    There's alot of people on this very forum and in this topic,that need to find a hobby to devote some of your free time,instead of worrying about how fast your antivirus is updating,I mean please!
     
  17. catseyenu

    catseyenu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    I don't know about all that, I think having my AV 2 days behind on definitions is risky. Also, the thing has nagged me to death about the update.

    Thanks for the manual update instructions, at least I can get it to shut up till I have time to find a more permanent solution to this.
    Has anyone tried swapping the update module out with the paid version?
     
  18. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,363
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I notice the Avira updates take on the average of nearly 5 minutes to finally begin their updates, but once a connection update begins, it downloads just fine. I chalk that delay up to circumstances of demand on their servers, no more, no less.

    EASTER
     
  19. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    As far back as I can remember poeple have been complaining about how slow the Avira servers are. You would think they would just get used to the fact that they aren't going to fix it if they haven't yet. :(
     
  20. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    I personally, have only noticed slowdowns, with the free version of Avira. The paid version(s) is lightening fast.


    Cheers
     
  21. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    When I tried Avira premium I also noticed that the servers were much faster than the personal version.
     
  22. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    No it is not.
     
  23. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    That is to be expected- TANSTAAFL.
     
  24. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    Please someone Mod... close this topic.

    What does it matter if they are slow or not? The updates are being up-to-dated anyway.
    eh
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.