AntiVir servers slow?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mrkvonic, Oct 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,694
    Hello,
    Anyone noticed this? Tried to update on one of the machines that does run AV on it, and the update failed the first time, took 3 minutes the other, when normally it's snappy 5-6 seconds.
    Mrk
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Just updated on my dad's PC, update was actually quite fast.
     
  3. Tadoussac

    Tadoussac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    118
    Really SLOOOOOOOOOW here too!
    5 minutes and still no connection yet.

    Maybe they're having server problems, or possibly they're busy pushing out something large like a version upgrade - which has slowed things down in the past.
     
  4. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    no problems here!

    I've got better things to do anyways then watch update progress :D
     
  5. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Skow here for free servers, normal for paid one.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,212
    Sometimes slow for the free Avira. With the premium version it's always fast but what actually happens sometimes I get ' Status:Internet connection failed' when I prompt the update from the tray, whereas if I do it from the GUI it either updates or tells me my protection is optimal.
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    If it's free version, try checking updates around midnight their time, usually works for me. If it's paid version, no idea what the problem is.....
     
  8. bugsy_pal

    bugsy_pal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Updating Premium was panfully slow for me last night - normally takes a few seconds. I thought it was downloading a huge update, but it wasn't - it was just slow.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I don't think it's any cause for concern.... if there's an issue, I'm sure they will fix it asap. As they sometimes say, "sh*t happens"...... ;)
     
  10. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    What is the latest version for AntiVir Premium Security Suite? Mine is 8.1.0.245 and have seen no new version update.
     
  11. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    I guess this qualifies as 'larger update' for avira, but if you take a look at my update speed for the paid version, I don't seem to have any issues. Admittedly it's 7:45AM german time at the moment.
    If you take their user base into account (around 60million), a 4.5MB update will cause around 257 TERAByte of Traffic for their servers. Add to that the other updates after it and you come up with quite some load :)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    I had a similar event but after 15 minutes update worked normal speed.
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,694
    Hello,
    It seems they have fixed whatever needed fixing ...
    Mrk
     
  14. ipkonfig

    ipkonfig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Can anyone please post the updated version numbers?

    Mine is as follows :
    Code:
    Product version 8.1.0.331 8/12/2008
    Search engine 8.02.00.05 10/15/2008
    Virus definition file 7.00.07.66 10/21/2008
    Control Center 8.00.70.08 6/26/2008
    Config Center 8.00.70.03 6/12/2008
    Luke Filewalker 8.01.04.07 6/26/2008
    AntiVir Guard 8.00.01.27 8/7/2008
    Filter 7.00.02.06 5/20/2008
    Scheduler 8.00.00.16 6/12/2008
    Updater 1.02.10.34 6/27/2008
    Is this the latest version?
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yes, this is correct for the AV
     
  16. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    Product version: 8.1.0.367 - 2008-08-12
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    this is what I show for the suite.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    Today it was a huge update again and as usual the server to update was very slow, but this has starting to happend often and it is very Normal thing, the updates will be updated but just little slower because it's a huge Update.

    Nothing to worry about or complaining,:)

    Bye,
     
  19. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
  20. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    the complete announcement can be read here IN ENGLISH i tried to translate from Bable fish and it worked great read it here;

    Bable fish





    But now something is wrong look at the picture :D
     

    Attached Files:

  21. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
  22. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    well the premium sevrers seems to be work as normal now. only the classic servers are busy at the moment.
     
  23. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Pretty much as always... Are you in a hurry, or? Just stop watching the updates window and set them to "Invisible" instead.

    BTW, packing this updates stuff as tar.bz2 or better yet 7z could reduce their traffic significantly.
     
  24. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Avira is updating very slow here. First time I've encountered this. Although I've saw numerous other people have problems with Avira updater servers. Running high speed dsl here. Pic attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • av1.jpg
      av1.jpg
      File size:
      35.7 KB
      Views:
      632
  25. Medank

    Medank Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    102
    did you read my post above?

    This is normal, it happends sometimes, the updates will be up to dated so no worry.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.