AntiVir Personal not updating?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by masqueofhastur, May 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    I'm running Windows 7 RC. I read some threads here that suggested that AntiVir worked without problems on RC. On trying to update I have the update window run for a while, then it just disappears and I get no indication that an update has occured or was even attempted.

    I've Installed Windows Live Suite, Office 2007, Audigy NX2 drivers, FireFox, KMPlayer and FlashPlayer, so at this point I can't think I have any software that's interfering with it.
     
  2. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    I have avira free here. It updated a few minutes ago. The update was very slow. It took about 4 minutes, usually takes about a minute.
     
  3. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    No problems here

    Update on computer YOUR-EF1D671724 (192.168.1.100) by http://62.146.66.184/update was successful.
    No new files are available.

    Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus Updater

    Creation time: Thu May 21 02:26:37 2009


    Operating system:
    Windows XP (Service Pack 3) [5.1.2600]

    Product information:
    Product version: 9.0.0.394
    Updater: C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\update.exe 9.0.0.46
    Plugin: C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\updext.dll 9.0.0.6

    Temp Directory: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\TEMP\UPDATE\
    Backup folder: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\BACKUP\
    Installation Directory: C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\
    Updater folder: C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\
    AppData folder: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\


    [UPD] [INFO] Checking whether newer files are available.
    [UPD] [INFO] Select update server 'http://62.146.66.184/update'.
    [UPD] [INFO] Downloading of 'http://62.146.66.184/update/idx/master.idx' to 'C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\TEMP\UPDATE\idx\master.idx'.
    [UPD] [INFO] No update available, the installation is up-to-date.
     
  4. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Thanks for confirming. I'd assumed since it was posted in the RC thread that it would work, but I guess I assumed too much. Time to uninstall and see if it gives me any headaches.

    Edit: Whao. Several responses in between the post I was responding to. Trying update again and seeing if it gives me any hassles. If it was a temporary server issue I think I can live with it for now.

    Edit 2: This time I get a message that an error occured in the file download -_-.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2009
  5. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Works fine now. Yeah, I guess 24 hours isn't bad. I barely care enough about AV these days. I was running a version of Sophos that seemed to be hamstringed by UAC and didn't catch anything, so as long as it doesn't cause me undue problems and does its job...
     
  6. masqueofhastur

    masqueofhastur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Of course it is important to have, but it shouldn't cause any problems. When your AV software makes your computer unable to do things it should do, it's just as bad as the malware.
     
  7. GuillermoTell

    GuillermoTell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hello all, I use Windows 7 RC and Avira Premium and have not problems with automatic updates so far. :D
     
  8. estervantes

    estervantes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    44
    Having no problems and never had problems on either my Windows XP or Vista computer with Avira updates over the last few years. However, I have had problems with Norton and Kaspersky when I tried them. If I did have problems of the kind described here, i guess i would configure updates for when Avira servers are less in demand and / or when I am not using my system. Or you could ask for a refund.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.