Antivir Guard knocked out by update?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Airr, Jul 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    My Antivir program was damaged by the July 2, 2006 update -- I am not sure what took place or how to 'fix' ito_O?

    I have enough trouble with 'english' - and I have not been able to get on the German site to tell of my problems.

    I am one of those Win98se people and until this last update to the Antivir free program -- I have had NO problems of late.

    However, the July 2 update has knocked out the Antivir Guard twice -- the last time I re-installed the program again -- but did not allow it to us the update and mess things up again.

    I am hoping that someone here can please tell me how to 'fix' things again o_O
    from the looks of things - I will have to upload 3 screen shots to 'show' what is going on - please hang on with me.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    Second screen shot warning
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    last screen shot in the warnings - I hope that someone will help me "fix" this?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    Well, at least I am not the only one to have this problem -- although no one has been giving any advise -- at least one other person was able to get through the german site and post about it:

    http://forum.antivir-pe.de/thread.php?threadid=10032&sid=e6d15cf629749552c6637799eeabdd82

    So, I am in hopes that maybe after the weekend -- someone will take a look at this issue?

    I am just not going to let the program update until it is 'fixed' -- I don't like having an 'out-of-date' set -- but, one that is broken -- is no good either!
     
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    Airr, the best solution is to uninstall your Avira, then to delete its folder from Program Files and to install again...and of course to update. ;)
     
  6. pilotart

    pilotart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    http://forum.antivir-

    copy from above site:
     
  7. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    We are preparing the release of engine 7.1.0.20 which will fix this problem.
     
  8. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    thank your Stefan for explaining this issue. :)
     
  9. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    the fix has been released.
     
  10. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    great...I'm using the beta version so I don't know...everthing works fine here. :D
    Btw, Stefan are you planning to have a HTTP scanner for Avira ?
     
  11. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    another vote for http scanner
     
  12. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Yes, they are working on a HTTP scanning module but I have no idea on the progress. Many other projects taking time. :-|
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I could exchange HTTP scanner for getting rid of the update popup :p :D
     
  14. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    you could get the premium version and the popup is gone. :D
     
  15. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Thank you one and all for your replies -- and for the speedy "fix" -- all is working well now!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 4, 2006
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Ditto! ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.