Antivir Guard knocked out by update?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Airr, Jul 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    My Antivir program was damaged by the July 2, 2006 update -- I am not sure what took place or how to 'fix' ito_O?

    I have enough trouble with 'english' - and I have not been able to get on the German site to tell of my problems.

    I am one of those Win98se people and until this last update to the Antivir free program -- I have had NO problems of late.

    However, the July 2 update has knocked out the Antivir Guard twice -- the last time I re-installed the program again -- but did not allow it to us the update and mess things up again.

    I am hoping that someone here can please tell me how to 'fix' things again o_O
    from the looks of things - I will have to upload 3 screen shots to 'show' what is going on - please hang on with me.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    Second screen shot warning
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    last screen shot in the warnings - I hope that someone will help me "fix" this?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    Well, at least I am not the only one to have this problem -- although no one has been giving any advise -- at least one other person was able to get through the german site and post about it:

    http://forum.antivir-pe.de/thread.php?threadid=10032&sid=e6d15cf629749552c6637799eeabdd82

    So, I am in hopes that maybe after the weekend -- someone will take a look at this issue?

    I am just not going to let the program update until it is 'fixed' -- I don't like having an 'out-of-date' set -- but, one that is broken -- is no good either!
     
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    Airr, the best solution is to uninstall your Avira, then to delete its folder from Program Files and to install again...and of course to update. ;)
     
  6. pilotart

    pilotart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Re: Guard knocked out by update?

    http://forum.antivir-

    copy from above site:
     
  7. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    We are preparing the release of engine 7.1.0.20 which will fix this problem.
     
  8. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    thank your Stefan for explaining this issue. :)
     
  9. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    the fix has been released.
     
  10. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    great...I'm using the beta version so I don't know...everthing works fine here. :D
    Btw, Stefan are you planning to have a HTTP scanner for Avira ?
     
  11. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    another vote for http scanner
     
  12. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Yes, they are working on a HTTP scanning module but I have no idea on the progress. Many other projects taking time. :-|
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I could exchange HTTP scanner for getting rid of the update popup :p :D
     
  14. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    you could get the premium version and the popup is gone. :D
     
  15. Airr

    Airr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Thank you one and all for your replies -- and for the speedy "fix" -- all is working well now!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 4, 2006
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,885
    Ditto! ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.