Antivir Copernic 100% CPU

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Iangh, Oct 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Installed Antivir beta with incremental update.

    After the scan is finished Copernic Desktop goes ballistic taking 100% CPU.

    The icon shows it has paused indexing but CPU is 100%.

    To save my laptop I have to end the process.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Ian
     
  2. th.schneider

    th.schneider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I sometimes have a similar problem, but I was not able to reproduce it up to now.
    Symptom is that AntiVir hangs during scan, either at 100% or earlier. It will not respond to any button pressed. When I exit the Copernic Desktop Search agent Antivir will continue.
    I don't know what the CPU load was during antivir hangs.

    I thought is might result from some file locking and/or scheduling priorities.

    Configuration:
    AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic, SearchEngine Version 7.01.00.21, Scanner Priority low
    Copernic Desktop Search Version 1.70 Build 971
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    A similar problem with the older version of Avira was posted over at CastleCops .
     
  4. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    This is strange, I forwarded this so the problem gets investigated. I remember reading about problems with Copernic Desktop, hm. :-|
     
  5. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    What is this Copernic Desktop? o_O
     
  6. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    The problem is the indexer used by this tool, it keeps writing files at the disk at a very fast rate. To solve the problem, add "CopernicDesktopS" to the Guard's exclusion list.
     
  7. th.schneider

    th.schneider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    That seems to work. The symptom didn't occur after I followed your advice.
    Thanks a lot!

    Here is a more precise description of the symptom for others to compare:
    AntiVir Filewalker hangs after 100% complete scan, no screen update, no buttons can be pressed.
    Copernic Desktop Search takes up 99% CPU time and cannot be exited normally.
    When I kill CopernicDesktop with the TaskManager Filewalker will come alive and work normally.

    I suggest to add the solution to AntiVir and Copernic FAQs.
    Thanks again.
     
  8. th.schneider

    th.schneider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Alas, the problem is here again, although I followed the advice and added "CopernicDesktopS" to the Guard's exclusion list.
    But it is not the Guard that hangs, it's the scanner.
    The scanner doesn't have a process exclusion list, it just has a file exclusion list. What would be the file name to add here?
    Any help appreciated.
     
  9. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm running latest free Antivir and Copernic 2 pre-release and no problem.

    Ian
     
  10. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    You run the scanner on-demand on the Copernicus directory and it hangs?
     
  11. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I run the scanner and my CPU shows 90-100% with Anitvir and Copernic being the culprits.

    After the scanner finishes no problems.

    I installed X1 and the CPU showed 85-95% with X1 replacing Copernic as the other main process.

    I have only just switched to Antivir over the weekend and had forgotten about this post.

    The Copernic is the 2 pre-release.

    BTW I tried exempting the desktopsearch.exe and it made no difference to the CPU level.

    Seems good to me. I have BD and Escan installed as back-ups so will run them this evening and see what CPU levels they hit. Neither cause Copernic to hang.

    Ian
     
  12. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Ok, I will investigate version 2.0 pre aswell to find out what is slowing down here.
     
  13. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    BD and Escan have a slight impact on Copernic. CPU level is a lot less 50-60%. However, they are not as fast as Antivir scanning.
     
  14. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Try adding "DesktopSearchSer" to the Guard's process exclude list. This is the service peforming the indexing.
     
  15. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Adding desktopsearchser to exclusions does not work.

    Solution is to leave 'On the fly indexing' and I changed 'suspend indexing while I use my computer' to 5 seconds. Go into processes and give desktopsearch lower priority to reduce CPU usage.


    Ian
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2006
  16. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Well, disable the AntiVir guard, leave the "on the fly indexing" option on, open the task manager, view the list of processes sorted by CPU usage and then leave the computer idle for some seconds so Copernic starts to indexing. You should see the name of the Copernic process that performs the indexing - this process must be excluded.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.